Kielbasa Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Easy and delicious. We had a green salad with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
So delicious and comforting. Due to products I had on hand I made the following substitutions: black beans for the garbanzo, red peppers instead of green, carrot instead of celery, omitted zucchini & bay leaves, chicken broth for the water & a full lb of turkey kielbasa. I always puree tomatoes because we don't like chunks of tomatoes. I browned the kielbasa first in the soup pot, then removed & lightly sauteed the veggies before adding the rest of the ingredients. I topped my bowl with a little shredded Swiss cheese, my husband topped with oyster crackers. This will be added to our soup rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I modified this based on what I had on hand, but this recipe is a great starting place so I'm reviewing anyway. I am not usually a fan of chickpeas, but I really liked them in this recipe. I used low fat turkey kielbasa so that this recipe is low fat, high protein, and really filling. I used 2 cans of beans, no zucchini or green peppers, and tomato paste instead of diced tomatoes. The leftovers are great and the smokey flavor was more pronounced. My 3 little kids ate it, too. I'm making more today! Just check the sausage and it's gluten free also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yum! Good meal with lots of protein and it made great left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Loved the flavor! Made it twice. The second time I cut out the bouillon granules and just used some low sodium beef broth. Cooked nice and low n slow both times, that was key. Tasted better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very Good. My family went back for seconds and even thirds. I think if I make it again I will add more beans perhaps pinto and black beans along with what the recipe calls for....Or maybe re-fried beans...We love beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Both my husband and I liked it. Skipped the celery and zucchini as we both don't like those. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P2B12
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
ok, so I tweaked it. Used chicken broth, only had kidney beans and black beans, didn't have any zucchini, added a bunch of spices to taste - extra chili powder, garlic pepper & oregano. It was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P2B12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made the soup exactly as written. Excellent! Loved the flavor of the beans in the soup. I think next time I'll brown the sausage a little. I think cooking the sausage with the onions & garlic as others suggested might make the soup even yummier! Enjoy! Easy & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I used turkey kielbasa, kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States