Kielbasa and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I'm a college student and I make this recipe a lot, its cheap and fast. It heats up well so its an easy warm lunch when I'm on campus all day during the winter. I do use fresh garlic, and follow everything, but I add a cup of cheese and a little sour cream, I also think the thinner the potatoes are sliced the better. I love it, its a great comfort food and is a meal that reminds me of living at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
After the previous reviews, 4 out of 5 stars, I anticipate a delightful dish. Unfortunately, it was bland and not palatable in the least. After disposing we opted for take-out. I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I did read some of the tweaks I read in other reviews before making this recipe. It was great, even my husband (who is a chef) liked it. I added only a cup of milk. I doubled the amount of garlic and added 2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard with some onion powder for a good bite to it. I baked for only an hour then added shredded cheese and french fried onions, baking for another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
as written, the recipe is lacking (except in saltiness.) With changes suggested by others the recipe was at least "4-stars." I added only one soup can of milk to prevent soupiness. I also didnt add salt and used garlic powder, minced onion, and a bit a mrs. dash to help with flavor. I also added mushrooms because we love them! I thinly sliced the potatoes and it took about 45 min at 375. My fiance loved it and he isnt easy to please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyAnn327

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaffee, New York, USA
Living In: Yorkshire, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was super yummy, tasted just like scalloped potatoes with kielbasa added to it. We did do three things differently: we omitted the salt, we sliced the potatoes thinly (maybe 1/4") instead of cubing them and we added 1/2 c of cheddar cheese. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very good, very hearty. My husband and toddler both enjoyed this. I added a little dillweed, but otherwise kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I also used the many suggestions to omit the salt. I used about 1 1/2 cans milk. I sliced the potatoes thinly, and cooked for 90 minutes as directed. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I kinda doubled this. 3 links of kielbasa, the lite kind. 8 cups of potatoes and doubled the rest. Needs a little less milk, and I used cream of celery soup. (My kids don't like musrooms.) Over all it was a nice change to the normal potatoe and kielbasa dinner. next time I'll make a few more changes... add corn and onions and mix all in a very large bowl. I layered it this time (potatoe, kielbasa, soup and then repeated) and topped with shredded cheese. It didn't work so great. I also used my convection oven (400 for 1hour) needed just a bit more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
A-MA-ZING!! Truely amazing! I added 5 cloves of minced garlic and a sliced onion. Then added a bag of cheddar cheese to the top and finished baking it for the remaining 15 minutes. Thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahottchicka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was easy and tasty with some additional cayenne pepper, fresh garlic, and topped at the end with cheddar cheese and french fried onions. Also used 3/4 C milk and 3/4 C sour cream. Par-boiled the potatoes first and it only took a half hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States