Kielbasa and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Giving this 4 stars because I changed the recipe, following other reviewers' suggestions. Cut the black pepper to 1 tsp, used olive oil & butter (around 2 Tbs. total), added garlic & mustard. The mustard is a brilliant suggestion! It really makes the dish. I serve this with buttered egg noodles (actually, I used a "Smart" butter-like spread instead of real butter). Add the buttered egg noodles to the cabbage & kielbasa mixture at the end and stir it all together. You need a really BIG pot, as this makes a huge amount! Tasty, easy recipe; I'll be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Quick, easy, and delicious! My girlfriend was skeptical because she is Polish and grew up eating delicious Kielbasa recipes. How can I compete with that? Well, we polished off the entire dish between us very easily. Don't worry about having too much cabage in the beginning. It cooks down a lot. Also, don't be discouraged if it doesn't taste great at first. Once it cooks for the entire 20 minutes, the juices from the Kielbasa and all the other flavors mix really well. I served it with instant brown rice and it was perfect. No way there's enough for 4, though. We're not big eaters and the two of us finished it with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Based on previous reviews, I added some chopped garlic to the onion saute, reduced the cajun spice and the black pepper to ONE teaspoon each, and added a generous squirt of brown mustard to the worcestershire before adding. SENSATIONAL! Very tasty and this recipe is a definite keeper. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This is easy to make and you can adjust the seasoning depending on your mood. I brown the kielbasa with the onion first, then add the cabbage since I like my meat browned and the cabbage with bite. Added garlic and made it a little more spicy by adding red pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Very good! Use a dutch oven instead of a skillet, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Fantastic! My husband and I loved this! I did use real butter instead of the oil for more flavor, only about 1 TBSP. I also used fresh chopped garlic and cooked it with my onion for a bit prior to adding the cabbage. I think it gave the cabbage a bit more flavor. I also only used a touch of cajun spice. If you are a "hunky" like me, try serving it over potato and cheese pierogies! This is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I make this often ! But I add potatoes, carrots, sometimes turnips, broccoli is good, as well as cauliflower. Use half as much cabbage. AND I serve a large pan of cornbread with it. just another WV girl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Super easy and super fast. I served this dish w/ mashed potatoes and it was demolish by my sons and their friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The best cabbage dish with sausage.The mustard,worch. sauce. spices ever. Dh and I loved it.I made it like we like Eckrich sausage. This was the best:::::::
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
what i liked most about this recipe was that it was quick and easy. all ingredience in recipe are things i usually have on hand. i only rated it 4 stars because i felt it lacked a little flavor. when i made a second time i added 2 cloves of minced garlic and sprinkled shredded monterey jack cheese over top and made a HUGE difference in the flavor. this is something i will prepare again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States