Kielbasa and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Giving this 4 stars because I changed the recipe, following other reviewers' suggestions. Cut the black pepper to 1 tsp, used olive oil & butter (around 2 Tbs. total), added garlic & mustard. The mustard is a brilliant suggestion! It really makes the dish. I serve this with buttered egg noodles (actually, I used a "Smart" butter-like spread instead of real butter). Add the buttered egg noodles to the cabbage & kielbasa mixture at the end and stir it all together. You need a really BIG pot, as this makes a huge amount! Tasty, easy recipe; I'll be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Didn't really knock my socks off. I followed the recipe exactly and thought the outcome was rather bland, and adding a couple extra ingredients didn't help much. I probably won't make again - thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATALIESHD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I didn't serve over rice. This came out a lot better than I had hoped. I haven't given many 5 star reviews ... this one is 5! You do need a huge frying pan to get everything in there and be able to stir it. Super easy to make and I didn't make changes. Although the garlic does sound like a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Based on previous reviews, I added some chopped garlic to the onion saute, reduced the cajun spice and the black pepper to ONE teaspoon each, and added a generous squirt of brown mustard to the worcestershire before adding. SENSATIONAL! Very tasty and this recipe is a definite keeper. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was so good, I did not add quite as much pepper as the recipe called for, just a couple turns on the pepper grinder and I stirred in 1/2 tsp of brown mustard into the wocestershire sauce before adding it to the pan. Wonderful flavor! Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made it as is and it turned out great. Just enough of everything. Thanks I will be making again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I think the black pepper overwhelmed the other flavors. Next time I'll half the amount of pepper, and add a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Very good. I only used 1/4 t. of cajun seasoning and it was still a little spicy for my family. I would use less next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
It was good but I didn't like it with rice. I think it would need sauce to serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
what i liked most about this recipe was that it was quick and easy. all ingredience in recipe are things i usually have on hand. i only rated it 4 stars because i felt it lacked a little flavor. when i made a second time i added 2 cloves of minced garlic and sprinkled shredded monterey jack cheese over top and made a HUGE difference in the flavor. this is something i will prepare again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States