Kielbasa and Bow Ties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is a really good recipe. I made a couple of changes, including using low-fat turkey kielbasa, mushrooms, garlic salt, red-pepper flakes, and a couple dashes of Essence. I also omitted the oil and used a non-stick skillet. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
This was easy but I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Sprayed pan with cooking spray and sauteed sausage; drained as much grease as possible. Put 1 large diced onion and one diced red bell pepper in pan with sausage and cooked until the tender; sprinkled with garlic powder. Used 1 can diced tomatoes and 15 oz can tomato sauce. Cooked whole grain penne separately and added in at end of cooking time. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Pretty good use of kielbasa. Someone was moving and gave me one so I tried this recipe. I added a green bell pepper and some dried herbs. I didn't have bow ties so I used another kind of pasta. Good and filling! Not sure if I'd make it again, but I enjoyed trying it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
My mom and my husband loved it! I don't eat meat so I couldn't tell you how it was. I can tell you from the stand point of someone who hates to cook, it was simple and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
LOVED this easy recipe. I did make some minor changes. I used turkey kielbasa instead of regular. I also used whole wheat rotini, a 28 oz. (undrained) can of diced tomatoes, fresh parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes and fresh cracked pepper along with the chopped onion and garlic. I cooked the rotini for nine minutes separately THEN added it to the sauce (which simmered covered while the pasta cooked). I added fresh parmesan cheese at the very end. My husband loves this and it doesn't elevate his blood sugar at all. SO easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Super recipie! I added some things to liven it up a bit though. I added a cube of beef bouillon, along with some fresh celery, green bell peppers, and carrots. A dash of crushed red pepper gives it a nice kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
fantastic for those chilly fall nights!!! we added chopped green pepper, celery, carrots, and extra cayenne pepper, basil and oregano for some kick. Also sliced sausage thinly so it would seem like more. very filling, stays with you :-) thankyou!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I actually sort of combined two recipes for kielbasa, this one and Pinto Beans With Kielbasa with some additions and whatnot. First off, I omitted the garlic cloves and seasoned the dish with garlic powder when I salt-and-peppered it. Next, I added a diced up carrot and two stalks of celery, also diced, to the pan at the start. I used three 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes and no tomato sauce. I added a can of rinsed Great Northern beans to the mix. I added some Tex-Mex seasoning for a little kick. I followed the first step, then mixed everything except the pasta (I used large macaroni, about 1.5 or 2 cups uncooked, instead of bow ties) in the slow cooker. I cooked it on low for about 5 hours, then added the pasta which took 20 or 25 minutes to cook. It was wet enough that I didn't need to add any water. Turned out great, and reheated well. Thanks for a base recipe that's tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This recipe turned out really good! It was a change from the usual meat I use. My husband really loved it. I was looking for a way to use up my sausage. I did like someone else suggested by cooking the pasta seperate. This recipe actually tasted better the next day after the flavours mingle for a bit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States