Kids' Octopus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I have done this for years with the grandkids! For a variation, I dye the ramen noodles green and pile the octopi on top of the :sea weed! turn the cooked hot dogs upside down and they are flowers! ( for the girls)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Small

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Simple and fun to do, I'd suggest the next time I do this, I use low sodium hot dogs and chicken broth. But the recipe did just what it said it would. The hot dogs curled right up and I thought that was fantastic! My local commissary didn't have a very good quality of fresh chives. I was totally disappointed. But for a small package at just under 3 dollars. I would have needed 2 to almost 3 containers of fresh chives to follow the recipe exactly, and I would have had it not been for the commissary's selection. However, I had to go with green onions and at 34 cents a bundle and using 2, and chopping only. the greens and saving the other part for another use. This recipe was made very inexpensively. What a great budget recipe. Hot dogs-- .89cents, Chicken Broth(Dollar Store)-- $2.50, Green Onions-- .68...total $4.07 WOW right? Less then 51 cents a serving. I'll make this again for sure. My kids loved how the whole hot dog trick turned into an octopus. A BIG THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My kids love this! I just boiled the hot dog octopi in plain water & served on plates with ketchup. The kids loved pulling apart the legs & dipping them one at a time. So fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is great! i boil them plain and serve them in my kids' bento boxes for lunch. they love 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
These are great! A new lunch favorite! Thanks for the terrific idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I just use packaged chicken noodle soup and put the sliced hotdogs in. The kids are crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is really good put on top a bowl of mac and cheese with some fish crackers sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I actually added the hotdogs to matzo ball soup and served it for Halloween dinner. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
My kids loved this & it was surprising good. Great for my Halloween dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Not the greatest, my picky little eater refused to finish his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States