Kids Favorite Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is seriously one of the better meatloaves I've every had. I added one cup of shredded mozzarella cheese, and it tastes just like moms. I used rice chex and was surprised at how many people never heard of using cereal in meatloaf before; it is common in west central PA. I baked it on a cookie sheet and put a small cooling rack on the cookie sheet and the meatloaf on top of that. This way, the grease drips off the meatloaf and onto the cookie sheet (and you can line the sheet with foil for easy clean-up!) I did not reserve any of the ketchup/br. sugar mixture, but mixed it all in and it was very moist and tender. I mixed mustard, ketchup, and worcestershire sauce and spread it on top before I baked it. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE! I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
What a great recipe! I made it on April's Fools Day, so I baked it in foil-lined muffin tins and "frosted" it with colored mashed potatoes. I used very little ketchup mixure do to the 'frosting', but it was very tasty so I will use more next time - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Wonderful. I made it in a regular loaf and it didn't need to cook any longer. I also used 1 cup seasoned bread crumbs instead of the cereal. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This meatloaf sure is a hit!!! I have made this several times over the last year. The only thing I do different is use crushed ritz cracker in place of the wheat chex. My daughter asks me to make it all the time. Thanks for sharing Mike B.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This didn't turn out very well for me. It's probably because I was not exactly sure what kind of cereal "crispy wheat cereal squares" are. I used bite sized shredded wheat, but I don't think that was right because they didn't break down very well in the ketchup mixture... could be chex?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was delicious. The only changes I made were I remove 1/2 tablespoon sugar, I made 11 muffin-size meatloafs instead and I added a slice of boiled egg hidden inside each meatloaf. The adults liked the egg, the kids did not. But everyone agreed that it was delicious. Just don't forget to grease the pan like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is the best meatloaf recipe. I make it all the time. I have been told that this is the only meatloaf that is good enough to eat without ketchup. If you are thinking about making meatloaf, make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I'm not crazy about meatloaf - but this smelled great while cooking and tasted even better. The kids loved it too. Thanks Mike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaghticoke, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Anything the kids will eat deserves 5 stars! Kids liked it, even the finicky 3 year old. Changes: didn't have Worcestershire sauce, added tiny pieces of red & yellow bell pepper, zucchini, leeks- all in small amounts. I had to sneak in those veggies! I did not use mustard, pepper or garlic salt (used herbed croutons instead). I didn't have cereal and used small amount of herbed croutons and quick oats equal to that called for in the recipe. Turned out great nonetheless and the smell is delish. Next time I will try with Worcestershire sauce. I cooked it in a 9x5 glass container- it shrank and released a lot of liquid- easy to dump. However, it was moist. If you cut the pieces too small it will fall apart. No biggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Really, really good. I formed it into a loaf shape a baked it on a rack to cut down the fat a little. I will probably cut the amount of salt in half next time... the meatloaf wasn't really salty, I'm just kind of "salt-sensitive" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States