Kids Favorite Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was wonderful, and aptly named. I think what makes it kid-friendly is the absence of onion. Onion powder is probably more palatable to kids. It also is slightly sweet, so if you prefer a more savory meatloaf, you may not like this one. But we all thoroughly enjoyed it and will add it to our "meatloaf repertoire."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This meat loaf had a fine flavor but a mushy texture. After cooling a bit it cut into slices but the texture did not resemble meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I am not a beef eater but the husband and kids liked it. I switched the toasted ceral to cheerios, pretzels and frosted mini wheats and it worked great. I also cut the servings to 4 rather than 8 and if you do this bake for 45 minutes at 350, glaze and bake for 15 more. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlsa222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good meatloaf will definetly make again. Made with slight variations. I didn't have any onion powder so I used a small amount of diced onions. I also baked it in a regular size loaf pan and put the glaze on at the begining.Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I took this a step futher. I rolled it out flat then put sliced ham and swiss cheese down. Roll up the meatloaf and its now a pinwheel. I baste in sauce and bake. If the sauce starts to burn cover with tinfoil until cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYSTONMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Havelock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
THIS IS THE BEST! I've been making this for about three years and it dissappears every time. Oh sooo sweet!! Served with a side dish of scalloped potatoes and I'm in heaven :-) Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
My family raved about this meatloaf as being the best I'd ever made (and they usually like my regular recipe). I used half lean ground beef and half lean ground turkey and substituted panko bread crumbs for the crispy wheat cereal since I didn't know what that meant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I loved how you can taste each individual spice that wasn't and wasn't too strong. I substitued whole crackers (brand called 'Wasa') and used 1/2 lb of ground turkey for a healthier version and it turned out EXCELLENT! Try experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My family absolutely loves this recipe. I need not look any further for a meatloaf recipe. I use corn squares instead of wheat squares (both are great, but I think the corn tastes slightly better). At first, I was using 1/2 the amount of sugar. One time, I unknowingly put the full amount of sugar in and it tasted the best ever! I do not reserve part of the ketchup mixture, but put extra ketchup on top. This recipe is very, very tasty and I recommend it to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
It didn't go over so well in my family. The kids did not want to eat it at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States