Kids Favorite Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Didnt change a thing except cooking temp and time. I put my oven at 400 and it cut the cook time down to 45 min total. 40 min to cook then add sausce on top cook for 5 more minutes. It came out just fine! Tates awesome everyone LOVED it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Hayfork, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Wonderful recipe! It's perfect. Meatloaf is one of the most versatile of dinners! dependending on how I feel - the "additives" change for me all of the time. I'll use cereal, like corflakes, wheat flakes, even oatmeal (which is my personal favorite) smashed herbed croutons, bread crumbs... everything works and it strectches that beef .. I've even used smashed white beans (northern, cannelli) I however don't care for ketchup - but anything can be used in its place, barbecue sauce, steak and chop marinade, steak sauce.. sphagetti sauce. Find your favorite mix and then make it a signature dish :) My family enjoys all of th meatloaves I make, and have 5 favorites that I make more regularly and when another turns out spectacular, it gets added to the favorites :) this particular recipe from Mike B is going onto the favorites list :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
The recipe is fine but can use rolled oats, cracker crumbs, or bread crumbs instead of cereal squares. They all are basically to hold the spices/flavor in. Oatmeal you need to let sit and soften awhile longer. Side note - This may be called Kids Favorite Meatloaf but for the last 50 years , I have called them hamburgers. (Canadian thing) Did not know hamburgers any other way till trip to USA and tasted a hamburger at BBQ and various restaurants. Spit it out as they don't put flavor into meet, just flavor from condiments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Just a personal note...did not try this recipe, but wanted to pass on that I use Gluten free cereal instead of bread crumbs for my son with many allergies. I season with herbs/spices to make up for the lack there of. It is a good substitute to eliminate gluten when you need bread crumbs.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas Park, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I've been making this meatloaf for years and years...family loves it I also use Italian bread crumbs instead of wheat cereal...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
We didn't care for this at all. I will stick to my usual recipe using quick oats as a filler; I like the combination of seasoning, but too much ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was the best meatloaf I've ever made. It was moist with great flavor. My kids loved it, too. I did substitute 1 cup of dried breadcrumbs (plain) in place of the wheat cereal. I divided it into four mini-meatloaves and baked for one hour at 350 degrees, then five minutes after topping with the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Really really good. I was not quite sure what "mini loaf pans" were, so I used metal cookie cutters on a cookie sheet, (for the kids) and I made the reminder of the mixture into a normal loaf for us adults. I also did not have any wheat cereal so I used panko bread crumbs. It really turned out good. I wanted to add the mozzarella like another reviewer said, but I forgot. I will try that next time. Because the cookie cutters were pretty small, I did not have to cook that long. I took them out of the oven after about 45 mins. All in all, a great recipe. Thanks Mike B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apollari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is one of my favorites. My mother has made these for years except, rather than using wheat cereal squares, she would use wheaties. we would first soak the wheaties in a little milk and let it get soggy, then squeeze the milk out and continue with the remainder of the recipe. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kareena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
As far as meatloaf goes. I tried this and I find anytime you put ketchup on meatloaf it is just bad. My grand kids would not even try it. I figured when I seen the burnt meatloaf in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States