Kidney Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
we liked this i only added some conecuh sausage and cajun seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tester36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I loved it!. I was looking for a kidney bean recipe for a side dish so I eliminated the beef all together. I sauteed onions in extra virgin olive oil, added minced garlic, then added beans and seasonings, and bay leaf as instructed except for I never measure my season salt. And I did not have any chili powder (surprisingly). I used dried oregano (because that is what I had) I had to use a can of dice tomatoes and green chiles (because thats all i had in the pantry too ). I added a dash of cayenne pepper in addition to the black pepper. Add the rice, and let it simmer (but I didn't let it simmer long). It came together really nice. I really loved the taste of it! And i will definitely make it again the exact same way!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyO
Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
After reading previous reviews stating the blandness of this, I was a bit worried. I made it exactly the same except for two small changes. I used 3/4 teaspoon of powder, and i added 2 teaspoons of Weber N'Orleans Cajun Seasoning (any cajun seasoning should do). If you're sensitive to spicy food, you might not want to use the cajun seasoning. I loved it, though my wife wasn't too happy, thats her problem not mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Cooked rice separately because my rice takes 2x as long to cook w/ tomatoes. Added 7 slices of crumbled bacon & it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed it pretty exactly, though I followed some recommended changes, and it was still very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Great when I did it right. The first time I accidentally added 2 cups of uncooked rice... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
great add a bunch of green olives to give it some caribbean flair!! and maybe a packet of sazon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Definitely easy and tasty. I had a few changes, since I'm vegetarian. Instead of beef, I used TVP and I used a wild rice/lentil mixture instead of plain rice. I also topped it with some lemon pepper, although I think some sort of caso fresco and cilantro would be really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
good recipe, with a few minor tweaks: i added a chopped green bell pepper and half a can of enchilada sauce. my boyfriend ate it two days in a row. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly but it seems to be missing something! Would make a great stuffing for peppers or cabbage but doesn't fit for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States