Kidney Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
we liked this i only added some conecuh sausage and cajun seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tester36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I loved it!. I was looking for a kidney bean recipe for a side dish so I eliminated the beef all together. I sauteed onions in extra virgin olive oil, added minced garlic, then added beans and seasonings, and bay leaf as instructed except for I never measure my season salt. And I did not have any chili powder (surprisingly). I used dried oregano (because that is what I had) I had to use a can of dice tomatoes and green chiles (because thats all i had in the pantry too ). I added a dash of cayenne pepper in addition to the black pepper. Add the rice, and let it simmer (but I didn't let it simmer long). It came together really nice. I really loved the taste of it! And i will definitely make it again the exact same way!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyO
Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
After reading previous reviews stating the blandness of this, I was a bit worried. I made it exactly the same except for two small changes. I used 3/4 teaspoon of powder, and i added 2 teaspoons of Weber N'Orleans Cajun Seasoning (any cajun seasoning should do). If you're sensitive to spicy food, you might not want to use the cajun seasoning. I loved it, though my wife wasn't too happy, thats her problem not mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Cooked rice separately because my rice takes 2x as long to cook w/ tomatoes. Added 7 slices of crumbled bacon & it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed it pretty exactly, though I followed some recommended changes, and it was still very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Great when I did it right. The first time I accidentally added 2 cups of uncooked rice... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
great add a bunch of green olives to give it some caribbean flair!! and maybe a packet of sazon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Definitely easy and tasty. I had a few changes, since I'm vegetarian. Instead of beef, I used TVP and I used a wild rice/lentil mixture instead of plain rice. I also topped it with some lemon pepper, although I think some sort of caso fresco and cilantro would be really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
good recipe, with a few minor tweaks: i added a chopped green bell pepper and half a can of enchilada sauce. my boyfriend ate it two days in a row. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly but it seems to be missing something! Would make a great stuffing for peppers or cabbage but doesn't fit for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States