Kidney Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This dish is okay. It's not spectacular and it's not repulsive. I made the dish as it was suggested with a slight modification: I used a yellow bell pepper as I didn't have a green one on hand and I'm not a fan of the can "sludge" that comes from un-rinsed beans so I rinsed the beans and replaced the exact quantity of can liquid with chicken stock. This dish has the desire to be great but it's missing something. It's okay and I'm eating it as I write this but it's not a dish that I would rush to make again. As another reviewer said here, this could be a nice base recipe but it needs more massaging before this becomes a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is very tasty. I didn't have bell pepper so I just omitted that. Also I added 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar to add some freshness. (Probably the bell pepper would have provided that needed fresh taste but alas we were out of that ingredient.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I tried this recipe and added English peas, mixed vegetables, and celery. It was delicious and my husband enjoyed it. We are not big fans of kidney beans but this recipe will be a part of our meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZoomX
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Awesome and fast! I made it with hot sticks sausages and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZoomX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this last night and was pleasantly surprised with how flavourful it was! I used what I had on hand: 1/2 white onion, 1/2 each green, red and yellow bell peppers, 1tbsp prepared mustard. I added nearly a tsp of cayenne, and I chose to rinse my kidney beans to reduce the sodium. I did add water in place of the liquid, however, and it took only about 10 minutes for the liquids to be nearly gone. I ate it just on its own, and it was delicious! Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very very easy! I didn't have a red onion on hand so I just used a small yellow one. Served it with a side of quinoa. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really liked this concept, however, I eliminated the spices and just poured some leftover chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. It was fantastic! I skipped the rice and just ate it plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Good for a change of pace and for getting those beans in your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Awesome!! I made yellow rice to pour it on and it was great! Vegetarian, quick, and easy. Everything I'm always looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this is a good and easy recipe. i didn't use the cumin, added a tsp of hot english mustard, didn't rinse the beans and added a chopped carrot for colour. very good, and quick. and most things are easy to keep on hand when you want to make this in a pitch. i made some guacomole as a side and used yogurt for garnish. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States