Kidney Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this recipe is sooo good, tasty and fast. my husband and i love it...we did add a can of rotel and will in the future, add more kidney beans to make it last a little longer. we eat it so fast because it is so great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
A really nice side dish, that has a wonderfully deceptive amount of flavor thanks to the garlic. We've found cooking until almost all the liquid is gone works best though - one time 20 minutes was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Wonderful! I left out the cumin and bell pepper because I didn't have any on hand. I also substituted the clove garlic for about a tbs. and a half of jarred minced garlic and added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. I served this over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was very good and very easy. I didn't have cumin (dislike the taste so probably would not have added anyway) I added a touch of onion powder. Had a great kick to it. Nice side dish and a good way to get some veggies in. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to make a meal out of a can of kidney beans and found this one. WOW, what an easy and tasty recipem this turned out to be. I followed the recipe and the only change I made was to rinse both the corn and the beans(together in the same strainer) because I do not like the can taste. I did not even replaced any of the lost liquid. My husband and kids loved this recipe. It is a really great vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
My grandma used to make a dish like this. She used creamed corn and kidney beans. We called it "kali ca mash" She sered it with bacon and we had a meal. Those were the days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Made this with reservations that my husband would even eat it. He actually complimented me on it 3 times, which means he really, really, really likes it! I served it over Brown Rice and was so tasty and filling. Will serve again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyWife7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Absolutely horrible! My husband and I took one bite each and threw it out. You could only taste spices, nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I found this alright. I don't like to use anything canned, so I used the equivalent in beans previously cooked from dried and frozen corn, adding in some chicken broth to make up for the liquid. The cooking time made the corn and beans way too soft and when mixed many of the beans broke apart, making a sort of pasty consistency. The flavor was good, and if I make this again I will cook it for only enough time as to warm through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very very easy! I didn't have a red onion on hand so I just used a small yellow one. Served it with a side of quinoa. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States