Kidney Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I absolutely loved this! It was easy to make, used ingredients I always have on hand, and delicious. I had it for lunch, and want to eat it again for dinner, it was so good. I was surprised by just how well all the flavors worked together. I didn't have ground mustard, so I added about 1 tsp. of Dijon mustard and for salt I used garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to make a meal out of a can of kidney beans and found this one. WOW, what an easy and tasty recipem this turned out to be. I followed the recipe and the only change I made was to rinse both the corn and the beans(together in the same strainer) because I do not like the can taste. I did not even replaced any of the lost liquid. My husband and kids loved this recipe. It is a really great vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Excellent side dish or even as a vegetarian meal. I omitted the green pepper because I don't like them but the seasonings with the beans and corn were delicious. It's now a standard dish in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Wonderful! I left out the cumin and bell pepper because I didn't have any on hand. I also substituted the clove garlic for about a tbs. and a half of jarred minced garlic and added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. I served this over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Made this with reservations that my husband would even eat it. He actually complimented me on it 3 times, which means he really, really, really likes it! I served it over Brown Rice and was so tasty and filling. Will serve again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyWife7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
A absolutely delicious and easy meal! I changed it slightly by using frozen corn and adding a small amount of vege stock, Chili & Dijon Mustard instead of dry. Tasted superb! For all you Thermomix owners.. this converts very easily to the Thermomix - cooked in 15 mins from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Great dish! It's something different to do with veggies. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Absolutely horrible! My husband and I took one bite each and threw it out. You could only taste spices, nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was very good and very easy. I didn't have cumin (dislike the taste so probably would not have added anyway) I added a touch of onion powder. Had a great kick to it. Nice side dish and a good way to get some veggies in. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
A really nice side dish, that has a wonderfully deceptive amount of flavor thanks to the garlic. We've found cooking until almost all the liquid is gone works best though - one time 20 minutes was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States