Kidney Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
It's easy to make and sounds like it would be good, but it was a big disappointment. Hard to put my finger on it, but it just didn't taste good. It had a kinda sweet flavor that I didn't like. My husband took a couple of bites and threw the rest away. I followed the directions and didn't drain the kidney beans or corn, but I think draining and rinsing them might have improved the taste and texture. But I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I didn't put any of the spices in & it still was very tasty. I carved out the center of a bowl & spooned the recipe in. I definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I just made this. WOW!!! Easy & Quick. Tastes good and looks good. I used items I had on hand as follows - didn't have red onion used white, added green and red peppers, used 1 tsp. regular mustard, and spiced it up with cayenne pepper, italian seasoning, salt & black pepper. Followed everything else. This will be a regular for me. Perfect with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Very good! Super easy to throw together and tasted great! Hubby and kids loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Made it according to the recipe except I used frozen corn to replace the canned corn. The result was bland and pedestrian. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Delicious filling dinner for weeknights when you don't have much time or energy to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
My grandma used to make a dish like this. She used creamed corn and kidney beans. We called it "kali ca mash" She sered it with bacon and we had a meal. Those were the days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this recipe is sooo good, tasty and fast. my husband and i love it...we did add a can of rotel and will in the future, add more kidney beans to make it last a little longer. we eat it so fast because it is so great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a great dish. I reduced the cooking time to 15 minutes and it was just right. A possibility was omitting the Cayenne pepper, especially for the kids. Overall, it was a very filling and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States