Kidney Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I found this alright. I don't like to use anything canned, so I used the equivalent in beans previously cooked from dried and frozen corn, adding in some chicken broth to make up for the liquid. The cooking time made the corn and beans way too soft and when mixed many of the beans broke apart, making a sort of pasty consistency. The flavor was good, and if I make this again I will cook it for only enough time as to warm through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I found this to be a very easy to make, nice recipe. As a variation, I didn't add as much cumin as called for (I added about half), and I only added a pinch of chili powder. But I also added some baby bok choi (chopped) to the recipe as the onions and garlic cooked, and then added about 15 oz. of canned diced tomatoes mixed with herbs. Also threw in a bit of orzo, and after it was done it came out very tasty. I've added this one to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I only had 1/3 of yellow pepper, so I added 1 stalk celery for cruch. It was good. I'll make it again! I served it with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I did not add the spices or the bell pepper as I did not have any on hand but I did add an onion and I thoroughly enjoyed this dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Hi There, This recipe has become a staple in our home. I've made copies and handed it out to "The girls" at Thursday breakfast. Minor adjustments: lots more garlic, red pepper instead of green, more cumin, usually add a can of creamed corn and sometimes I'll add chick peas. This recipe is easy, inexpensive and makes for great leftovers. Serving this with a tasty grain makes for a meal with a "Complete protein". As being a new family of vegetarians, this is a great fallback recipe which we all enjoy. Even the teenage boys! Thanks again, Jesse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious flavor. I added half red pepper and almost a can of diced tomatoes and at the end I threw a red chili to add some flavor. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
It's really good BUT you have to add something to it. I followed the recipe exactly and it's very bland and tasteless. I added some all purpose seasoning (Vegeta) and a touch of sugar. Thank you for a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
YUM YUM AND YUM!! I had my trepidations but this is EXCELLENT! I used frozen corn because I hate canned corn (1.5 cups) and didn't have green pepper. I was afraid of the cumin so I used about 3/4 Tablespoon but I'm thinking I could have put the full amount in. This is extremely flavorfull and the spices are not at ALL overwelming! What an excellent dish for a thrifty mama trying to clean out her cupboards! I will DEFINITELY make this again!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I added a can if diced tomatoes (with the juice) but drained the corn and beans. We had this with cornbread and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I gave this recipe 5 stars b/c I thought the combo of flavors were very good, however, I did make some changes. I used butter instead of olive oil to saute the onions and garlic, I used vidalia onions and doubled the garlic. I also drained and rinsed the kidney beans and added a can of Rotel tomatoes like another reviewer suggested. I also used frozen corn instead of the canned and cut the spices in half, omitting the cayenne pepper. I garnished with cilantro and served over mashed potatoes for something different. Tonight, I will use the leftovers to make Quesadillas. I think with these tweaks, it was pretty darn tasty. Sometimes you just have to make a recipe to suit your own tastes. This was a great recipe that was fast and easy, you could use what you have on hand which is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States