Kidney Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I tried this recipe and added English peas, mixed vegetables, and celery. It was delicious and my husband enjoyed it. We are not big fans of kidney beans but this recipe will be a part of our meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZoomX
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Awesome and fast! I made it with hot sticks sausages and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZoomX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this last night and was pleasantly surprised with how flavourful it was! I used what I had on hand: 1/2 white onion, 1/2 each green, red and yellow bell peppers, 1tbsp prepared mustard. I added nearly a tsp of cayenne, and I chose to rinse my kidney beans to reduce the sodium. I did add water in place of the liquid, however, and it took only about 10 minutes for the liquids to be nearly gone. I ate it just on its own, and it was delicious! Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very very easy! I didn't have a red onion on hand so I just used a small yellow one. Served it with a side of quinoa. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really liked this concept, however, I eliminated the spices and just poured some leftover chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. It was fantastic! I skipped the rice and just ate it plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Good for a change of pace and for getting those beans in your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Awesome!! I made yellow rice to pour it on and it was great! Vegetarian, quick, and easy. Everything I'm always looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this is a good and easy recipe. i didn't use the cumin, added a tsp of hot english mustard, didn't rinse the beans and added a chopped carrot for colour. very good, and quick. and most things are easy to keep on hand when you want to make this in a pitch. i made some guacomole as a side and used yogurt for garnish. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I found this alright. I don't like to use anything canned, so I used the equivalent in beans previously cooked from dried and frozen corn, adding in some chicken broth to make up for the liquid. The cooking time made the corn and beans way too soft and when mixed many of the beans broke apart, making a sort of pasty consistency. The flavor was good, and if I make this again I will cook it for only enough time as to warm through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I found this to be a very easy to make, nice recipe. As a variation, I didn't add as much cumin as called for (I added about half), and I only added a pinch of chili powder. But I also added some baby bok choi (chopped) to the recipe as the onions and garlic cooked, and then added about 15 oz. of canned diced tomatoes mixed with herbs. Also threw in a bit of orzo, and after it was done it came out very tasty. I've added this one to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States