Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is an outstanding recipe just like we used to have years ago. The only change I made was using small sweet pickels chopped into small pieces rather than the relish and adding a teaspoon of the juice from the pickel jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I did not include the eggs (for no other reason other than I didn't have any to hand)but did include a bit of dill as suggested by another member. I also noted that some others thought the salad had too much mayo/relish, so added both ingredients just a bit at a time until I was satisfied. Tasty & wll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Wow! Fresh, healthy quick fix. I added a chopped carrot for a little extra nutrition and it didn't affect the taste at all. Be sure to use mayo and relish to your own liking rather than just taking someone's word for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinto_pony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was OK but can't see what is so fabulous about it. Kind of a strange combo of ingredients. I too used chopped dill pickle since I don't like sweet relish, and I also always use fat-free Miracle Whip for mayo. It was all right, but the only way I'd make it again is if I just wanted a way to use up some ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Wow! This salad was so good! And I don't even like beans. I think the mayo was a little too much though. A 1/4 cup would've been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for. I'm so excited. This is just great, and it made my day to have found this and make it. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Add some diced cheese and it is even yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
OMG! This is soooo good. My husband is the big kidney bean salad fan in our family, so I made this for him, then... I taste-tested it (a few times). I made a few changes suggested by other reviewers; I used green onions instead and extra celery. I also added an extra egg and skipped the relish, hubby wrinkled his nose when I asked his opinion. Made this for a party that isn't until tomorrow, I'm sure I'll get plenty of compliments (I probably should've made a double batch), we'll see... P.S. I wish I could rate this recipe 10*'s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDP4445

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Yes, this salad isn't the prettiest, however, very tasty. I didn't feel like chopping fresh onion so threw in a tbsp of dehydrated instead. I mixed the wet ingredients first, drained/rinsed kidney beans (1 can light & 1 dark) & let them dry off in colander. I also added about 2 tsp splenda for a slight sweet taste. Let it sit overnight then added the chopped hard cooked eggs before serving. It was really GOOD, thanks. You need to add salt to your liking as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Not as big a hit as I thought it would be at our neighborhood 4th of July party, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States