Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
One of my favorites! Great with BBQ or even on crackers as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a great classic salad that I remember from my youth. My family does not care for sweet pickle, so I used dill pickle relish and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a very quick & easy salad to throw together with ingredients I had on hand, so that's a plus! We liked the combination of flavors, but agree that the recipe calls for too much mayo. I used 2T and it was plenty for our taste. Other than that, no complaints and no leftovers! Made a great side dish to our Sloppy Joes II dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a very easy and good salad. Made it this morning for our Easter dinner. Since I used a white onion that is more pudgent, I only used 1/8 of a small onion and 1 egg. I also put in a pinch of cayenne pepper to make the flavors pop. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dealthecards123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I was surprised to find this recipe. My grandmother has made kidney bean salad for years. I gave it five stars because it's similar, a great start, and a good change of pace. Kidney beans, onion, celery, and mayonaise are the basics. My grandmother always added to the basics and made it differently depending on what was on hand. I make my dressing more like potato or macaroni salad dressing. I mash 2 hard boiled eggs, add my mayo, a squirt of prepared mustard, and a splash of pickle juice. I also spice it up a bit with little garlic powder, a touch of salt and pepper, and maybe a pinch of cayenne or paprika. My grandmother always used either chopped pickles (dill and/or sweet) or chopped cucumber. Optional items would include cheese (Velveeta, Colby, or mild or sharp cheddar, try your favorite cheese), peppers (green, yellow, or red), and even a chopped apple. The trick to this salad is to make it before the rest of your meal so that it has time for the flavors to meld a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Made this today. My guests liked it, but I didn't. I thought it was too bland, not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was looking for something new to do with kidney beans besides just heating and eating them from the can. I found out that beans are good for diabetic's, and so I am trying to get more beans into my diet. My husband and I just loved this recipe, and we will for sure be making it more often. I did however make a few changes like I didn't have sweet pickle relish, but I did have dill relish. I do not use mayonnaise, and so I used miracle whip instead. I also rinsed off the kidney beans because of the redish brown juice from the can. Great!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was SO easy and SO yummy! I used green pepper instead of celery, because I didn't have any celery. I am imagining this in a pita....maybe with some fresh spinach leaves and some tomato slices....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Great salad I remember from childhood. I omitted the relish and added a few tspns dried cranberries, and a chunk of granny smith apple chopped and a couple tablespoons toasted pine nuts. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Weiker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States