Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe has also been a favorite in my family for decades. The only difference is that we add a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little kick and a dash of mustard. It's best served cold and after the flavors have a chance to blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is a recipe from my childhood that I had totally forgotten. Never had it with celery, but I'll give it a try. My mom always chopped sweet pickles for it, so a little bigger chunks than using relish. I'll try it though. And I think that the mayo needs to be added a little at a time. It shouldn't overwhelm the salad which sounds like a problem that many were having. It should just coat everything, not get soupy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great recipe, this has been a quick fix summer salad in my family for years. I dontt use onions or celerly and use chopped sweet pickles in place of sweet relish. Add Mayo to desired consistancy. I'ts a winner, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
One of my favorites! Great with BBQ or even on crackers as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a great classic salad that I remember from my youth. My family does not care for sweet pickle, so I used dill pickle relish and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a very quick & easy salad to throw together with ingredients I had on hand, so that's a plus! We liked the combination of flavors, but agree that the recipe calls for too much mayo. I used 2T and it was plenty for our taste. Other than that, no complaints and no leftovers! Made a great side dish to our Sloppy Joes II dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a very easy and good salad. Made it this morning for our Easter dinner. Since I used a white onion that is more pudgent, I only used 1/8 of a small onion and 1 egg. I also put in a pinch of cayenne pepper to make the flavors pop. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dealthecards123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I was surprised to find this recipe. My grandmother has made kidney bean salad for years. I gave it five stars because it's similar, a great start, and a good change of pace. Kidney beans, onion, celery, and mayonaise are the basics. My grandmother always added to the basics and made it differently depending on what was on hand. I make my dressing more like potato or macaroni salad dressing. I mash 2 hard boiled eggs, add my mayo, a squirt of prepared mustard, and a splash of pickle juice. I also spice it up a bit with little garlic powder, a touch of salt and pepper, and maybe a pinch of cayenne or paprika. My grandmother always used either chopped pickles (dill and/or sweet) or chopped cucumber. Optional items would include cheese (Velveeta, Colby, or mild or sharp cheddar, try your favorite cheese), peppers (green, yellow, or red), and even a chopped apple. The trick to this salad is to make it before the rest of your meal so that it has time for the flavors to meld a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Made this today. My guests liked it, but I didn't. I thought it was too bland, not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Bean Salad

A mayo-free salad perfect for large family gatherings and picnics.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States