Kid Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by karowillson
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Really enjoyable recipe! My three year old son loves these! I don't use raisins; instead I use dark chocolate chips. Sometimes I add finely grated zucchini to sneak extra veg in. One of my go-to recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Quite dense and eggy, these muffins didn't rise too much. But great flavour, both kids love them. Didn't have applesauce on hand, so we just grated two apples, skin and all, that worked fine. May use a little more flour and baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These are great. Super moist and really healthy. I've made them with bread flour as indicated or all with regular flour and it really makes no difference. I replace half the butter with extra apple sauce and half with extra coconut oil to make them even healthier. I like to use coconut sugar since it has a lower glycemic index and I tend to decrease the amount to 1/3 of a cup - they are still plenty sweet because of the bananas and apple sauce. Both my husband and 2 year old love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. It can be "changed up" in many different ways without affecting the overall end product in a negative way. Combine all the wet ingredients together first. Sift all the dry ingredients together and add to the wet ingredients last. But here is the *REAL* secret to the best muffins. Gently fold in the dry ingredients to the wet ones until just barely incorporated. You may still see some dry areas or lumps but that is perfectly okay. Gently spoon the mixture into the cups. DO NOT "press" the mixture into the cups. DO NOT bang the muffin tin on the counter to reduce air pockets (like you would a cake) either. Treat them gently and bake as per the directions. If you follow these tips you will have nicely raised, fluffy, moist muffins. If you don't... well... you can always use them for hockey pucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Instead of soaking the raisins in plain hot water, I soaked them in hot unsweetened chai. I did not have coconut oil, I used all butter. I also used regular flour as I did not have bread flour. I increased the vanilla to a full teaspoon. Before baking, I sprinkled each muffin mound with cinnamon-sugar. My muffins were done baking at 20 minutes. Delicious! The whole family loved them. We didn't even make it to breakfast tomorrow--came home from work tonight and they were half gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Awesome, moist muffins that my kids loved. I added blueberries to half and that was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
These muffins were fairly gross. They came out soggy and didn't rise as much as would be expected. I would not recommend making them and my whole family loves muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This recipe is amazing! My husband, 9 year old, 7 year old and 1 year old scarfed them down! I only made a few minor changes - doubled the vanilla, added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla and used molasses instead of brown sugar because we are cutting back on refined sugar. Otherwise followed it to a T. The first batch went so fast, I am doubling it when I make it again this week so I can freeze some. (A great base recipe too...you could shred zuchinni in it instead of carrots etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great muffins...really moist and tasty! I made them as mini muffins for my 16 month old and he ate 3 of them as soon as they came out of the oven and it wasn't even meal time :) I only made a few small changes: I used healthy oil instead of butter, I chopped up apricots(without soaking) instead of using raisins, I used 2 tablespoons of flax, and finally I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and they were plenty sweet! Thank you for such a great recipe. Next time I think i'll add some pecans and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
LOVE!!! These are soooo delicious. My 21 month old will not eat any veggies & he ate these up like candy! My very picky husband also loves them They are a new staple on my weekly menu. What a great snack on the go or a snack for the kids. I didn't have any vanilla so I added cinnamon instead and also threw in a tbsp of Brewers Yeast for fun. So moist & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States