Kid Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
They came out great tasting, but not much height - I think I had all the right amounts, so only thing I can think of is that I added nuts and that could be why? Does anyone know any other reason? I used the 1/2 t of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe, as-is, is great! It is a real kid-pleaser; my first batch was gone by the time they were cooled. I did notice a bit of sogginess in the centers, so in subsequent batches I skipped soaking the raisins and baked them an extra few minutes. This is quickly becoming a go-to snack for us. Oh, and regarding the butter and coconut oil; they contain healthy fats that promote brain development in kids, so don't hold back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Still yet to try them with my finicky grandson, but I enjoyed the taster. I used butter instead of coconut oil and included half cup blueberries. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Soooo good! I didn't have applesauce but had some homemade peach/plum/pear puree that I used instead. And I added a little bit of cinnamon. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely be making these all throughout the year for my kids to send in their lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These muffins were easy to make, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
My kids go nuts for this! I usually make a double batch and freeze half for later :) I add in chia seeds sometimes as well and have substituted other baby food in this recipe as well! Cannot go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karowillson
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Really enjoyable recipe! My three year old son loves these! I don't use raisins; instead I use dark chocolate chips. Sometimes I add finely grated zucchini to sneak extra veg in. One of my go-to recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Quite dense and eggy, these muffins didn't rise too much. But great flavour, both kids love them. Didn't have applesauce on hand, so we just grated two apples, skin and all, that worked fine. May use a little more flour and baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These are great. Super moist and really healthy. I've made them with bread flour as indicated or all with regular flour and it really makes no difference. I replace half the butter with extra apple sauce and half with extra coconut oil to make them even healthier. I like to use coconut sugar since it has a lower glycemic index and I tend to decrease the amount to 1/3 of a cup - they are still plenty sweet because of the bananas and apple sauce. Both my husband and 2 year old love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. It can be "changed up" in many different ways without affecting the overall end product in a negative way. Combine all the wet ingredients together first. Sift all the dry ingredients together and add to the wet ingredients last. But here is the *REAL* secret to the best muffins. Gently fold in the dry ingredients to the wet ones until just barely incorporated. You may still see some dry areas or lumps but that is perfectly okay. Gently spoon the mixture into the cups. DO NOT "press" the mixture into the cups. DO NOT bang the muffin tin on the counter to reduce air pockets (like you would a cake) either. Treat them gently and bake as per the directions. If you follow these tips you will have nicely raised, fluffy, moist muffins. If you don't... well... you can always use them for hockey pucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States