Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was very good and easy to make - I used half AP flour and half wheat. I used my bread machine to mix the dough and then let it rise in a warm oven (pre-heat to 200 degrees then turn OFF!) with a damp towel over bowl for an hour. Shaped loaves (you don't need to roll out, just shape into a rectangle and plop in buttered pan) and baked as directed. I really enjoyed the end result and this really is kid (baby) friendly as many wheat bread recipes contain honey and children under 1 year are not supposed to eat honey. These make great toast sticks for my little guy to enjoy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I've been making a wheat bread recipe that requires soaking overnight, much kneading, etc. This one was much easier and tasted better, with a texture we preferred as well. I made it as written my first time to form a baseline impression. I think next time I'll try to cut down the refined sugar by adding honey to replace the 1/3 cup of sugar. This replaces our gourmet wheat bread recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This went over well in our household and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good wheat bread. Bf friendly too--He liked it and said it smelled good--and he's not a wheat bread fan. I used the breadmaker to make the dough, then baked at 375 for 45 min. Nothing against this recipes directions, but 375 and 40-45 min works best for breads in my oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is great! Husband and kids loved it too. Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Turned out Great. Had to use white sugar because I was out of brown. Shaped the dough like Italian loafs and put cornmeal on the bottom of the pan. It was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
The Best whole wheat bread! This bread was light and fluffy with wonderful flavor. I used SAF yeast and about 1/2 cup gluten flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
not bad, but pretty bland tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamuggle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This bread came out fantastic. I don't have any bread making equipment so i kneeded the dough for about ten minutes prior to the first rising. It rose beautifully and i love the way the slits in the top look. I find that most breads become dense after cooling however this stayed quite fluffy. I don't have little kids at home but this was definately hubby friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States