Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This bread came out fantastic. I don't have any bread making equipment so i kneeded the dough for about ten minutes prior to the first rising. It rose beautifully and i love the way the slits in the top look. I find that most breads become dense after cooling however this stayed quite fluffy. I don't have little kids at home but this was definately hubby friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made bread, it went really well with this recipe. It was easy and everyone loved it! I had a friend and her kids over when I was making it and they refused to leave before it was done because it smelled so good cooking they had to have some!! I am sure I will be making this many many times, I only have half a loaf left and I made it this afternoon! I also didn't need the last cup if flour, but made it exactly to the recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyers Cave, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I have NEVER made bread before & am fairly new to *real* cooking. (read: most of my meals come in a box & are tossed in the oven) I was happy with how the loaves turned out and received rave reveiws from family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Many compliments on this bread recipe. Minor changes> molasses instead of brown sugar when feeding the yeast in the first step (easier to mix), half wheat and half all purpose flour. In the future, I will make this with 3/4 of the dough in one bread pan, and use the leftovers for dinner rolls, as each half did not make such a large loaf as I like for slicing for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I really wanted to love this bread ... it was easy to make, it made a beautiful loaf, but, overall, I just didn't love it ... the taste and texture were okay, and it made great French toast, but it just wasn't what I was looking for, I guess ... it is dense, which is why it works so well for French toast ... and, I think it would be good to use for stuffings and things like that ... but, as a sandwich bread ... not so much ... thanks, tho'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was my first attempt at making yeast bread--I finally got a stand mixer--and this recipe was perfect! I brushed melted butter on the tops after I took them out of the oven. The house smells great and the bread is yummy! After adding the initial amounts of flour, I only had to add 1/3 c. more of white and 1/2 c. more of wheat. Thanks for the easy to follow recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love this recipe. I use it all the time. It's great if you add some cinnamon, ginger, even cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
this is very good, our "standard" whole wheat bread. it's never failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe, but ended up being a little disappointed. It was easy enough to make (used my stand mixer), but the flavor is pretty boring. Usually I enjoy having a slice of plain bread or toast. I'll keep trying other bread recipes, thanks for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States