Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
mmmmm fantastic! I just used one less cup of wheat flour than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This bread is amazing. I made it just as directed. My friend had brought over 2 loaves of home made white bread and I made 2 loaves of this wheat bread. The wheat bread was gone before the white! My kids are aged 3-11 and they all raved about it. No more store bought bread for us. I'm making it again, but I will try to use molasses instead of the brown sugar and add a little wheat bran to it. Yummmm. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is a very nice wheat bread recipe - and it is quick. My loaves turned out beautiful and soft. I have tried a bunch of different wheat recipes trying to find "the one." Well, I think this is it. (My one year old loved it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
it sunk but was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very good bread! It is definitely kid friendly, because within minutes of taking this out of the oven, the smell got their attention and almost an entire loaf was gone within ten minutes. I did do a few things different, but not so much to change the recipe, per se. I always use King Arthur flour or home-grinded. In this case, I used KA flour, as it is far superior to all other brands, imo. Used coconut oil for the vegetable oil; Rapunzel sugar instead of brown sugar; Himalayan salt; and raw milk. The end results were delicious! Oh yes, only used three cups plus 2 TBSP. of the whole wheat flour. It's easy to know when you have added enough flour, if you're using a stand mixer with a dough hook. The dough will come together and completely come away from the sides of the bowl. It'll also come away from the dough hook (not be sticky to it) where the dough hook is only kneeding it. If kneeding by hand, same thing, except with your hands, it won't be sticky to your hands anymore and will come away from them. Just a tip for anyone new to bread making. :) Do a search on bread making and you'll find all sorts of tricks of the trade! Bread making is so much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My nine month old baby loved it. It tasted like the wheat bread from the store but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe. I like to bake my own bread rather than buying & I appreciate that this dough does not have to be kneaded very long... just leave it in the KitchenAide. The bread comes out fabulous!! I add 3 cups of wheat flour first & then add a little at a time to get the right consistency. Definitely did not need all of the recommended flour. I add a little flaxseed for a heart-healthy touch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
YUM! This was my first attempt at baking bread. It was so easy and tasty I'll be making it again. This is THE wheat bread recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! The kids, 8, 6 and 3 all fought for the last piece (but I had already eaten it) It does make two quite small loaves, will try doubling it next time or just using one loaf tin. Other than that, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Pretty easy to make. Turned out well and had a good texture, but it was a bit bland. Maybe use a pinch more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States