Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This bread turned out pretty good. It was my first time baking again after a long illness, and I was pretty happy with the results. I did everything as the recipe describes, except I doubled the recipe and made it into 3 large loaves (instead of 2 loaves per single recipe). I also added milled flax seed and sunflower seed to one loaf. The seed loaf was a little more crumbly than the rest, but still delicious. The only complaint I had was that the crust was a little over done and crumbly. This made the bread a little harder to slice. No one but me noticed this & they gobbler it up. I will use this recipe again, but perhaps not a double batch, as it burned out my Kitchen Aid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
What a great bread! No honey, so I can share it with my almost 10 month old. It's delicious. Smells great while cooking. Only sad bit is my Kitchenaid motor started smoking while mixing :( I think this is the winner in my search for a bread to make weekly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made a double batch today. Found I didn't use as much flour as was called for, and used more of the wheat than all purpose. And I don't have a mixer, so everything was done by hand. I no longer buy bread...I make all my own, and this is a wonderful addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrl1279

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made the dough in my bread machine (no mixer) and baked in the oven. Success! I had to half it because I didn't realize how low I was on yeast, but I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. And my 2 year old loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
The double loaf worked well in my kitchenaid. I used almost all of the flour. I rolled and tucked one and shaped the other into a loaf. The rolled and tucked one was much nicer and didn't stick to my pan but had huge holes in the loaf even though I rolled it tightly. I googled how to make french bread and the technique worked on this for rolling and tucking. It's more like fold and pound. This time there were no holes and it was great.. gone in 30 minutes. Also, need to remember 15 minutes at 400 and 30 at 350 or even less time if I don't want to burn this! Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe quantities exactly, which resulted in an excellent bread. Just be sure to knead it long enough when using a Kitchen Aid mixer. This is now a standard in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I don't know what would have to be different to rate this bread at less than 5. Followed instructions and ended up with two perfect loaves. Now I'm off to try another recipe with less sugar and more grainy, grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe. Kicked the butt of a "artisan" recipe I got out of a fancy cookbook. Quick, easy, of course, kid-friendly. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Perfect sandwich bread! Soft bread & crust, but firm enough to hold up while slicing thinly for sandwiches & toast. I made 1 loaf & some sticky buns, since I had to roll it out, anyway. Both were a hit with my husband & 4 yr old. It didn't need to bake more than 30 min. in my oven (15min @ 400F, 10-15min @ 350F.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe turned out fabulous. I didn't change a thing and it is perfect wheat bread for sandwiches and just eating! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States