Kid-Approved Sweet and Sour Chicken Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Will be using this as my go to recipe for sweet and sour sauce. I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup instead of the 1 cup and found it was sweet enough. My girls frowned upon me putting the pineapple back into the pan so I did leave them out (they came in asking what was for supper and saw the pineapple sitting out and asked why). Hubby said it had good flavor but could be a bit more tangier so next time I think I'll add a bit more vinegar.(I also did not add the optional carrots) Thanks for the recipe! AAA+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Yes used only ketchup instead of vinegar. This was a great add to homemade chicken nuggets or rice. Awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly and it came out even better than the stuff from the Chinese restaurant. I did use frozen popcorn chicken instead of frying the chicken, but it was still a big hit with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This sweet and sour sauce is better than even what restaurants serve. It doesn't taste very good at first, but if you let it sit and cool down the flavor is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
We LOVE this recipe! I have five children...one on a special gf/cf/sf/apple free diet.This is a GREAT recipe.we havent used it with carrots yet but i do add big slices of onion and green pepper and the pineapple juice. we have tried MANY recipes for sweet and sour with no soy sauce and THIS one is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Was super great!! I did the vinegar version with just a touch of ketchup for color. I added to chicken drumsticks that I dipped in egg mixture with pepper and homemade chilli sauce, and then dipped in flour with red pepper, black pepper, paprika and cayenne. I baked the chicken at 375 for an hour (pan rubbed with olive oil and pam)and flipped chicken once. then i scooped sauce into the chicken glass pan and let bake for another 10 minutes then turned it super down for another 10 mintutes. then i covered it until my hubby got home and was a super yummy success served over white rice. yeh! thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I enjoy trying new sweet and sour recipes. This is a very yummy one. I like the pineapple in it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I was very skeptical of this recipe. I followed the notes to switch leave out the vinegar and substitute lemon-lime soda for the pineapple. This came out very well. I added a bit of soy sauce, brown sugar and a touch of barbeque sauce. My kids loved it and it is way better than any of the bottled stuff in the grocery store. The novelty of ketchup and soda mixed together helped too I think. I will use it again when I need a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very versatile! I used fresh chicken breast diced and doubled it to go over rice. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Valerio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States