Kicky Steak Strips with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I tried this recipe for my boyfriend and I tonight. I used instant brown rice (we use it a lot, so were used to it) instead of white. I didnt measure anything lol. Couple squeezes of brown mustard, worshy sauce, soy sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, and sriracha hot sauce. i marinaded it for about 1 hr 15 minutes. i cooked it with olive oil and in the liquid for about 1 1/2 minutes to a simmer and then drained it. i cut long green onions and slightly sautéed those with the beef. AWESOME. I love spicy and added extra sriracha hot sauce. my boyfriend did too and he loved it. since i drained the marinade the rice was slightly dry so we added a touch of soy sauce. the beef was salty enough so i wouldnt recommend putting it on the beef, only the rice. I suspect bok choy would be amazing in this. next time! a nice version of beef and onion on rice. yum! im stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shavaun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
We loved this. We made one and a half pounds of steak and double the marinade. I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the marinade and it was perfect. I heated the oil in a large non-stick pan so the meat could be in a single layer. I cooked on medium for about 3-4 minutes per side. I guess it depends how thickly you slice the steak. I sliced mine between 1/4 and 1/2". It was snowing here and it was so nice to make such a tasty recipe where I happened to have all the ingredients on-hand. We are going to make this again - soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wow! Talk about kicky! This is extremely spicy. I tasted the marinade before adding the meat and was almost knocked off my feet. I took the advice of another reviewer and added some brown sugar. After tasting the marinade I was worried the meat would be too spicy for my husband and I so I only marinated it for about 15 minutes. It was really good! I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I read the reviews before making this recipe so changed it to suit my family's tastes. I used only 1/4 cup of Worc., 2 Tbsp Honey Mustard and mixed in 1/4 c Brown Sugar so that the flavor would be in the marinade. If the marinade is too thick you can thin it a little with water or apple or citrus juice but avoid adding additional Worc. Sauce or you are back to having too much "kick" for some folks. I sauteed onions, garlic, mushrooms and red pepper strips then added the steak strips to cook. It was fabulous over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Very good. I thought that there was a little too much kick, so I just sprinkled some brown sugar on it while it was cooking. It helped tone it down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This recipe was boring and lacked the kick I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly. Perhaps the steak strips should marinade for longer than 30 minutes? It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either and it left my friend and I longing for more flavor. I probably will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Great recipe! Since I didn't have an Worcestershire sauce, I used soy sauce instead. It ended up tasting greater than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTY_KITTY84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This is really good!! I did add brown sugar to the marinade. I will try it without the sugar -- I don't need the calories that sugar adds. :) I used dijon mustard because that's what I had. I marinated the meat for about 5 hours. And I added some sliced carrots when I sauteed the onions and garlic. I wanted to add a little color and I really liked the addition. Thanks for the easy recipe that I will be using often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This was okay. The worch. sauce really overpowers any other potential taste. Per others, I did add some brown sugar, which did cool this off, and green bell pepper strips while frying for some color. However, I doubt I'd make this again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe, with no changes, is a good start. With some changes, it is by far a 5 star winner. I used only 1/4 cup Worc. Sauce, 1/4 cup tamari soy, 2 tablespoons minced garlic, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, 2 tablespoons Boetje's stone ground mustard, 1/2 cup olive oil. Blend all ingredients in blender till smooth. Put steak, or chicken, strips in ziploc with marinade and pop in the fridge for as long as you like; i did mine for 3 hours and it was wonderful!!!! Saute some yellow and red peppers along with 2 yellow or white onions and 1 tablespoon of minced garlic in a little olive oil until tender crisp. remove veggies and saute strips for about 6 min. total. remove meat and add leftover marinade, boil for at least 5 min. Serve everything over long grain white or brown rice. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States