Kicky Steak Strips with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I read the reviews before making this recipe so changed it to suit my family's tastes. I used only 1/4 cup of Worc., 2 Tbsp Honey Mustard and mixed in 1/4 c Brown Sugar so that the flavor would be in the marinade. If the marinade is too thick you can thin it a little with water or apple or citrus juice but avoid adding additional Worc. Sauce or you are back to having too much "kick" for some folks. I sauteed onions, garlic, mushrooms and red pepper strips then added the steak strips to cook. It was fabulous over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this was easy to make and my family liked it. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this recipe as written and we liked it ok. What put it over the top and won a spot on our regular rotation was the addition of half a teaspoon of orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Captain Lolo
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Mmmmmm this was very good and I only made a few changes...like some people before me I used soy sauce with some brown sugar instead of the Worcestershire sauce and I also added some green and yellow peppers to it VERY TASTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Nothing special. My husband said he would have it again, but I wouldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Would not make this one again. Husband wasn't a fan either. It lacked a saltiness. Maybe if I did 1/2 soy sauce and 1/2 worc. sauce it would have been tastier but it lacked kick either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allyash84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
The steak turned out great...but there wasn't any gravy left over when you put it over the rice. I ended up having to make a brown mushroom gravy to pour over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
great, my boyfriend and i eat it all the time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I tried this recipe for my boyfriend and I tonight. I used instant brown rice (we use it a lot, so were used to it) instead of white. I didnt measure anything lol. Couple squeezes of brown mustard, worshy sauce, soy sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, and sriracha hot sauce. i marinaded it for about 1 hr 15 minutes. i cooked it with olive oil and in the liquid for about 1 1/2 minutes to a simmer and then drained it. i cut long green onions and slightly sautéed those with the beef. AWESOME. I love spicy and added extra sriracha hot sauce. my boyfriend did too and he loved it. since i drained the marinade the rice was slightly dry so we added a touch of soy sauce. the beef was salty enough so i wouldnt recommend putting it on the beef, only the rice. I suspect bok choy would be amazing in this. next time! a nice version of beef and onion on rice. yum! im stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shavaun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe, with no changes, is a good start. With some changes, it is by far a 5 star winner. I used only 1/4 cup Worc. Sauce, 1/4 cup tamari soy, 2 tablespoons minced garlic, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, 2 tablespoons Boetje's stone ground mustard, 1/2 cup olive oil. Blend all ingredients in blender till smooth. Put steak, or chicken, strips in ziploc with marinade and pop in the fridge for as long as you like; i did mine for 3 hours and it was wonderful!!!! Saute some yellow and red peppers along with 2 yellow or white onions and 1 tablespoon of minced garlic in a little olive oil until tender crisp. remove veggies and saute strips for about 6 min. total. remove meat and add leftover marinade, boil for at least 5 min. Serve everything over long grain white or brown rice. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States