Kickin' Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions and Spicy Sweet Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Yum, yum, yum! I will definitely make these again. I didn't add the jalapeno or the liquid smoke. It was flavored perfectly without those. I didn't have mesquite seasoning, so I used a mix of chipotle chili powder, paprika, garlic powder, marjoram and cumin. I added a heaping tablespoon of dry bread crumbs to hold it together just a bit. They cooked beautifully on my George Foreman grill. This has just become my favorite recipe for turkey burgers, and the sauce was excellent! I only made half a batch of sauce, and we still had leftover, but I'm sure we'll be dipping chicken strips or French fries in it. Thanks OC for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
These were the most delicious turkey burgers I've had so far. So full of flavor. I used mesquite flavored liquid smoke and extra shredded onion. My whole family loved them, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
The burger was well liked by all, even an a especially picky 13-yr old nephew. He didn't care for the jalapeños in the meat, and to be honest, I thought it was an odd addition to the main BBQ flavorings. I added bacon, tomato and avocado slices to the burger which brought the taste to a whole different level, but due to the jalapeños, I'll give this burger a four-star rating. I'd make this burger again, without the jalapeños as it didn't go the BBQ theme and it would also be less work. In conclusion, with the additions of bacon, tomato & avocado, this turkey burger is pretty darn delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddogBabytooth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I made this for dinner, my only changes were that I didn't use horseradish in the sauce, because I don't like it and I skipped the jalapeños. My husband said it's the best burger he ever had! That's saying a lot because he LOVES burgers. Served with homemade sweet potato fries and a small side salad. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe, the burger and the sauce, had great flavor. I thought my husband was going to drink the sauce he liked it so much. I'm only giving it four stars though because my burgers completely fell apart (this may have been my fault because I'm not used to cooking with ground turkey, but not sure). I will definitely make this recipe again though, but I'll try to find a way to firm up the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used this as a base recipe and changed it up to taste. I didn't use the liquid smoke, used some chunky salsa in place of the jalapeno pepper and onion, used ground beef and topped burgers with bacon. I have made these twice and switched things up a bit each time and they were awesome, awesome, awesome...some of the best burgers I have ever eaten. I have a feeling you could change this recipe around many different ways, adding or subtracting ingredients and amounts to taste, with wonderful results. This recipe is a keeper for our family. I loved the sauce too! Thanks so much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
While I didn't have mesquite flavored seasoning, liquid smoke or steak seasoning (though I looked up a recipe for this to see what spices were in it), this turned out tasty. The sauce, and caramelized onions were delicious, and though the burger patties seemed wet, they cooked up quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I liked these. It was my first time making turkey burgers and some pals on the buzz recommended them. I am not used to working with ground turkey at all, so I am sure there is a learning curve. They were very flavorful, which is a big part of what I loved about them. The flavors profile was really nice together. I opted to omit the jalepenos as I am not a fan of that much heat. The sauce is also wonderful. The only complaint I had was that my burgers were hard to form and keep together. When I grated the onion, I added all of it (after using the food processor to grate it). Maybe I was supposed to leave out the extra liquid, but being a novice with ground turkey, I added it. I highly recommend not skipping either the sauce of the onions, as the three are great together. I also opted to toast my burger roll. Thank you occasional cooker- no longer afraid of boring turkey burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I really wanted to love this burger. I felt that the patty was too heavily seasoned; I could not taste the meat at all. It felt as though I was eating a uniquely flavored sausage or meatball on a burger bun. While I like sausages and meatballs, that was not what I was looking for in a burger. I will most likely not attempt the patty itself again, but the sauce was tasty and I might try that on a different burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Holy Moly...this is a perfect turkey burger recipe! Moist and full of flavor! I had to tweak the spicy sweet mayo sauce because I didn't have all the ingredients, but I made the burger as written. I doubled the burger ingredients and was able to make 8 nice sized burgers. This is the second burger recipe I've tried from Occasional Cooker and I love this one just as much as her Asian style burger! You are my 'Burger Queen'...lol! Thanks again for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States