Kickin' Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions and Spicy Sweet Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe, the burger and the sauce, had great flavor. I thought my husband was going to drink the sauce he liked it so much. I'm only giving it four stars though because my burgers completely fell apart (this may have been my fault because I'm not used to cooking with ground turkey, but not sure). I will definitely make this recipe again though, but I'll try to find a way to firm up the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used this as a base recipe and changed it up to taste. I didn't use the liquid smoke, used some chunky salsa in place of the jalapeno pepper and onion, used ground beef and topped burgers with bacon. I have made these twice and switched things up a bit each time and they were awesome, awesome, awesome...some of the best burgers I have ever eaten. I have a feeling you could change this recipe around many different ways, adding or subtracting ingredients and amounts to taste, with wonderful results. This recipe is a keeper for our family. I loved the sauce too! Thanks so much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
While I didn't have mesquite flavored seasoning, liquid smoke or steak seasoning (though I looked up a recipe for this to see what spices were in it), this turned out tasty. The sauce, and caramelized onions were delicious, and though the burger patties seemed wet, they cooked up quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I liked these. It was my first time making turkey burgers and some pals on the buzz recommended them. I am not used to working with ground turkey at all, so I am sure there is a learning curve. They were very flavorful, which is a big part of what I loved about them. The flavors profile was really nice together. I opted to omit the jalepenos as I am not a fan of that much heat. The sauce is also wonderful. The only complaint I had was that my burgers were hard to form and keep together. When I grated the onion, I added all of it (after using the food processor to grate it). Maybe I was supposed to leave out the extra liquid, but being a novice with ground turkey, I added it. I highly recommend not skipping either the sauce of the onions, as the three are great together. I also opted to toast my burger roll. Thank you occasional cooker- no longer afraid of boring turkey burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I really wanted to love this burger. I felt that the patty was too heavily seasoned; I could not taste the meat at all. It felt as though I was eating a uniquely flavored sausage or meatball on a burger bun. While I like sausages and meatballs, that was not what I was looking for in a burger. I will most likely not attempt the patty itself again, but the sauce was tasty and I might try that on a different burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Holy Moly...this is a perfect turkey burger recipe! Moist and full of flavor! I had to tweak the spicy sweet mayo sauce because I didn't have all the ingredients, but I made the burger as written. I doubled the burger ingredients and was able to make 8 nice sized burgers. This is the second burger recipe I've tried from Occasional Cooker and I love this one just as much as her Asian style burger! You are my 'Burger Queen'...lol! Thanks again for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I must have done something wrong when making the spicy mayo because it was not edible. And after reading all the positive reviews about the mayo and even all the ingredients sound amazing together my conclusion is I missed something or added the wrong ingredient. The turkey burgers were absolutely delicious! This is how ill prep turkey burgers from now on !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This recipe is very good! My hubby and son never knew they were eating ground turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Fabulous! I am always looking for a new way to prepare turkey burgers and we loved this one. I left out the liquid smoke(only because we don't like the flavor). I prepared everything else as the recipe stated and it was so yummy! The caramelized onions and sauce took this burger over the top! I will definitely be adding this to the rotation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
These burgers are awesome! The spicy mayo is wonderful, but a half batch is PLENTY, with some leftover! I have not made it with the hot pepper sauce, as I don't have that on hand. I make the burgers just as written, but usually use jalapenos out of the jar, as that is what I typically have available. Try these...you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States