Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My husband and I have made this about three times, it's delicious. A very nice way to fit in your greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was my first time even trying collard greens. It was great and my husband from NC loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Oh Mama! I did not add salt since the bacon served that purpose. High five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Felle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Very easy and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
My husband is from the South and I never had collards before meeting him. He made collards and I would "eat them"..or would I say choke them down. Even tried them at local bbq resturants to appease him. Eww! But since this recipe I LOVE THEM!! This recipe rocks! Even better if you get your greens from your local CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathins

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I cook often but I’m a novice when it comes to cooking collard greens. I hardly write reviews but this time I had to. I made these greens recently they were delicious! Everyone loved them perfectly seasoned. I made the following modifications (cider, and brown sugar, an cooked the meet longer and sautéed the meat with the onions and bacon grease) as noted by previous reviewers and one of my own (turkey ham chopped into small pieces instead of using bacon, but I did use bacon grease I had form a previous dish and cut out the olive oil). I’ve looked at other recipes and I gave this one 5 stars because of the technique and with very little modifications these greens are AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dasheema Jarrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This recipe is ok but it's missing a few things for my taste. Chicken stock? I like to make my own pork stock if I have time. First you gotta have ham hocks! Some recipes say boil them for 30 minutes and thats ok if you want to use the meat. I like to boil my for over 8 hours to make a stock breaking down the collagen so you get all that amazing pork flavor. Start with 3 qts of water, 1 1/2 lbs of ham hocks, salt & pepper to taste, bring to a boil and then simmer. You will have to add water from time to time but in the end it makes for better greens. This recipe contains no sugar or vinegar for that bite. Some people use brown sugar I prefer to use orange juice you get the sugar plus a little acid which most food needs. I add some white vinegar (also acid) and my favorite hot sauce for kick. Greens need to cook for at least 2 hours so they are nice and super tender. Not to knock this recipe it is a good, simple base recipe but for traditional "southern" collards don't forget the hocks, a little sugar and vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
solid not too spicy but seasoned well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSSERICA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Made this dish and the wife loved it! If you combine it with any kind of baked meat such as meatloaf, seasoned baked chicken, or a roasted beef with flavored mashed potatoes will make a very tasty meal. Use your imagination and it will combine very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Slow_Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
First time ever cooking OR eating collard greens. This recipe was really yummy. Will definitely eat them again. Oh, yeah. I have one more bunch in the fridge! Got these in the Bountiful Baskets last Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States