Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I use pork side meat or bacon as the pork ingredient in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I did make a few changes I did not use the olive oil. I cooked 4 pieces of bacon instead of 3. I followed the rest of the recipe as it was written and I thought the collards turned out great. Even my 15 year old daughter liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Fenton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Great recipe. I make as written or make alterations like adding white kidney beans to it or using pancetta instead of bacon. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekquirk
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was a good recipe, but I made a few tweaks. For one, I skipped the oil and sauteed the onion and garlic in bacon grease. While that was cooking, I boiled the chicken broth with a smoked ham hock and later added the rest of the ingredients. I think the ham hock provides a lot more traditional flavor than bacon. I also added a pinch of brown sugar and a splash of apple cider vinegar like other posters suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe. That being said, my only experience with collard greens is the local fried chicken place that has them on the menu. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except as soon as I added the broth, I transferred everything to a pressure cooker and cooked the greens on high for about 7 minutes in the pressure cooker since I didn't have time to wait. Turned out nice and tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! I upped the garlic and used Kale and something that looked like Bok Choy (CSA mystery greens), cooked for about 20 min, and it was delicious. Probably the tastiest I've ever had Kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I'm from the north and had never made collards before. I took this to a Southern family get-together and they were raved about. I think this had too much salt and pepper and not enough bacon. I used half a pound of bacon or about 8 slices. I would recommend using 1/2 tsp of salt and pepper or season to taste. I also followed the advice of other reviews and added a spoonful of brown sugar and some vinegar. Not sure the brown sugar did much but I recommend the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I must admit, it turned out better than I expected. My man is a vegetarian, therefore I did not use any meat for flavoring. The only adjustment I used from a different greens recipe was liquid smoke. My man is a VERY critical & picker eater and I noticed he made two helpings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and even my 6 year old loved them. The red pepper flakes really give a kick, but adding apple cider vinegar balances the taste out. These were amazing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States