Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angela Kenow
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Turned out great! I like a bit of tang in mine so after the 45 min cook time, I added 1/3 cup vinegar. I also added a couple more slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Kenow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was wonderful, and easy to make. The collards transform from bitter to tender and mild once cooked. I used a brand of natural bacon called Applewood, which is quite lean and tasty. Used less broth than this, and add a splash of lemon juice or white vinegar at the end. Making them again for a dinner party tonight. Collards cook down - may not serve 6, if you love them as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving last year. Since moving to Montana, I have not been able to find greens so as nervous as I was, I tried this recipe. It was SO easy and SO good! I confess I added more bacon than called for, but I pretty much followed the recipe. If you want to try to make your own, use this recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Polensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Mine turned out extremely bitter, so I had to add sugar. I know how collards are supposed to taste--I'm from the south and have been eating them all my life, so I know what I'm talking about. I had to add at least 1/4 cup sugar. I also cooked them for over 2 hours. They finally turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Excellent tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
YUMMY! This was my first attempt at making greens and it was a success. I did make a few substitutions using the fresh mixed greens bag from Trader Joe's (mustard, collard, and turnip greens) beef bacon, vegetable broth (rather than chicken broth), and a little more than a pinch of red pepper flakes. They were spicy but not overbearing. They were not too salty either. My kids loved them. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is my third time making this recipe !!!!! Instead of bacon we used fat back pork and it's awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NikkiB
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Could not be more delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great! My son said our house smelled like grandma's. There is NO higher compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing! I did make a few changes after reading what the other reviewers said. 1.) I cut up the bacon before cooking so I wouldn't need to crumble it later 2.) Omitted the Olive Oil - why do you need that when cooking bacon? 3.) After removing the bacon I poured off a good amount of the grease, and left about 1-2 TBSP to cook my onions and garlic in 4.) I cooked them a VERY long time -the longer the better. Mine were on the stove for about 2.5 hours the night I cooked them and then about another 3 hours the day of the event I was cooking them for. These were hands down the best greens I have ever had. One of the girls at work told me she didn't even like collard greens but she liked mine! I made some cornbread too to dip in the collard juice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Even my picky husband ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States