Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have prepared these collards fresh and frozen and they are wonderful! I have migraines so I use chicken broth with no MSG and Open Nature bacon that is wonderful to be a non-cured bacon!!! I like the idea of reading the reviewer that says she used 1 tsp of vinegar and and sugar (I did add this last time I prepared)! I will continue to use this recipe!!!! Fabulous! Miss Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardenbug161
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I've made this recipe twice with my home-grown collards, and both times it was fantastic! I add in diced turnips with the onions. Other than that, I follow the recipe as written. Nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Add 1 tbsp each of vinegar and sugar after adding chicken broth. Also, chop bacon and fry then add onions to saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Amazing!! I used twice the amount of bacon though just is I could use up the bacon. This is simple to make and delicious. I'm so happy no one else in the house likes collard greens. I get to have them all to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My Wife used this recipe with turnip greens and they were wonderful. I am not a big greens eater but I had seconds on these. She did not have olive oil so she used regular oil. Try them, you will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tarara
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Being raised in the mid-late 50's into the 60's, I never experienced Collard Greens. Actually, probably wouldn't have eaten them anyway. I've tried and enjoyed other "unique" to me greens...hence my first time with Collard's. I used homemade chicken stock, but otherwise followed the recipe. I paired it with Fried Chicken Liver from this site. My sister thinks I've gone nuts. Cooking for one...doesn't hardly matters. I personally like this, especially with 8 oz of bacon. The stock plus aromatics etc are reducing now...I need to get my SNL inspired "spittle bucket" out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Cut out ALL the salt!!! I LOVE salt, however, with the broth it needs no more. I did also double the bacon, Vidalia onion, and garlic. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is an awesome recipe to play around with! I personally use the whole package of bacon and it's a definite on adding the brown sugar and vinegar. I also cut up mushrooms in tiny pieces for flavor savors and add stick of butter and two cans of well rinsed great northern beans. People can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie Leigh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
First attempt at trying these, they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States