Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for Christmas and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
my mom and I made a big pot of this recipe, and we cannot stop eating it! Oh my god it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These are great - I tasted them at the 45 minute mark and they weren't done enough for my taste, but after 2-3 hours they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The longer these sat, the better they tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hedder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
After seeing an article which claims collard greens can reduce cholesterol 13% more than prescription drugs, have been wanting to try cooking some. Of course, with the bacon used for seasoning, not sure how much good remains but these are really great - the additions of some of the reviewers are necessary to make it so. No olive oil - with all the wonderful bacon drippings (used 6 slices), why? Sauteed the onion and added the garlic in the drippings before adding the bacon back in. Used water and a cube of chicken bouillon in place of broth, as that was on hand. Did not add salt, as there is plenty in the bouillon. Did add about a tablespoon of sugar (mix of white and brown). Cooked all afternoon on low heat, barely simmering. Yummmeee! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
added the brown sugar, apple cider vinegar and a few pieces of extra bacon as suggested by others...wow...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Kenow
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Turned out great! I like a bit of tang in mine so after the 45 min cook time, I added 1/3 cup vinegar. I also added a couple more slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Kenow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was wonderful, and easy to make. The collards transform from bitter to tender and mild once cooked. I used a brand of natural bacon called Applewood, which is quite lean and tasty. Used less broth than this, and add a splash of lemon juice or white vinegar at the end. Making them again for a dinner party tonight. Collards cook down - may not serve 6, if you love them as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving last year. Since moving to Montana, I have not been able to find greens so as nervous as I was, I tried this recipe. It was SO easy and SO good! I confess I added more bacon than called for, but I pretty much followed the recipe. If you want to try to make your own, use this recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Polensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Mine turned out extremely bitter, so I had to add at least 1/4 cup sugar. I also cooked them for over 2 hours. They finally turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States