Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
My husband grew up eating black eyed peas and collard greens for New Years. We eat the greens all the time since we found this recipe. When we visited his mom recently, she made some greens. He whispered to me, "You need to tell her about that recipe you found." Haha! This recipe is perfection for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Waldrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wshort53
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Love this stuff. I add a little bit of butter and let them simmer for a few hours. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I thought these were awesome, but I put a little country ham instead of bacon. Mmmm, mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Doubled the bacon and used chicken stock instead of broth. Loved it! Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
really good! added more bacon next time won't add salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! My method: Microwaved bacon on a paper towel lined plate until crisp 5/6 mins. Threw a ready washed and cut bag of mixed turnip and collard greens into my slow cooker raw. Didn't measure anything. Just threw in the cooked and chopped bacon, chicken broth, crushed red pepper, raw minced garlic,raw chopped Vidalia onion, brown sugar, apple cider vinegar, salt, and pepper. Cooked on low all day while I was at work. Came home to the best tasting greens I've ever had. Served with blackened catfish and cheesy onion rice. This is my new favorite side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I tried kale, collard, romaine and mustard greens with this recipe and hands down each time a 5 star finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This recipe turns out the most delicious collard greens I have ever eaten. If you don't make them correctly, they are bitter to the point where you don't want to eat them. I've tried other recipes, but this one works perfectly. The generous amount of black pepper and pinch of red pepper gives this dish a bit of liveliness. I made one change: I put in half the salt because I felt the bacon added enough salt that a teaspoon seemed like too much. My husband, who usually notices when there is not enough salt, made no comment, so I consider half a teaspoon sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This is an amazing recipe for collards and if one loves greens, they will love greens cooked with this recipe. For those who need to watch their cholesterol, use 1 to 2 cups of smoked turkey meat in lieu of the bacon. You won't be disappointed one bit. I've prepared this recipe with both meats and in my opinion, one is just as good as the other. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This was my first attempt at collards and they were SUPER yummy. I added a generous dash of brown sugar as other suggested. SO TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States