Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
okay, like the taste of spinach better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Loved it. I had chard and used that and it was yummy. I used less broth though and cooked it for a little less time. I also added a bit of brown sugar. It was superb. A few days later I made it with brussel sprouts from the garden (which are similar in flavor to collard greens). I used more broth and cooked them longer. A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Safika Erselcuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
i am sure this is awesome since i already make mine this way. correct me if i am wrong but the paleo diet has nonprocessessed foods, no preservatives. what about the bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We loved this dish, however with a few minor additions. We took the advice of some of the reviewers and added a few key ingredients. This is what we did: Being Southern, collard greens and bacon are a match made in heaven. It is a must to have enough bacon grease to fry the collards, and give it an amazing taste. Many would use ham hocks for the base, but substituting bacon to get that flavor, we added extra bacon, to the tone of 10 slices. So if you're on a health kick, this isn't necessarily healthy. We skipped the olive oil, and cooked with the bacon grease. We cooked the bacon, partially, took it out, added the onion to the grease, and cooked until soft, but you can caramelize if you would like, then we added the garlic and cooked until fragrant. Next, we added the chopped collards, and cooked until well wilted, added the bacon back, added the chicken broth, salt, pepper, and substituted hot sauce "Tabasco Sauce" in place of the red pepper flakes. This adds a little vinegar without giving it a vinegary flavor. On a side note, the recipe does not call for vinegar, we were confused by all the bad reviews that said it did! We cooked for a good hour, and then felt it needed a little something, so we added 2 TBSP of brown sugar, and this was perfect. We cooked for an additional hour, to soften the collards, because this is a must. These are absolutely delicious, and will definitely be a staple in the household. PS: Be sure to WASH your collards! E Coli is very dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Never made collard greens before; this recipe turned out fantastic. BTW 1 serving size = about 2/3 cup. I followed the recipe exactly and it created about 4 cups of delicious collard greens in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
absolutely loved these collared greens! I did not not use the olive oil, just good ol bacon grease.The only thing I will change next time is to only use two cups of chicken broth as mine was alittle too watery,otherwise,PERFECT!!5*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I make this often, hubby LOVES it. He never had greens before he married me. I just add a little more bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Best tasting greens ever! It's the green recipe I use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I used salt port instead of bacon. I think it made the dish even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States