Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great! I added a dash of cider vinegar and a tsp. of brown sugar as suggested. I worked with a smaller amount of greens, I think, so I only used 1 cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very good greens recipe. I made it a little easier and faster by using real bacon bits instead of cooking mine before. I also put in some Louisiana hot sauce instead of the pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Yum!! I followed other reviewers suggestions and upped the garlic and added brown sugar. My husband doesn't eat pork, so I substituted turkey bacon. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good. Even better the next day, and then even better after that. I forgot to use the olive oil. But used thick cut bacon. It still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Way too much pepper for me. I did add a splash of apple cider vinegar & 1 tbs of brown sugar. Added another tsp to make it edible bc didn't want to throw out whole batch. I've been looking for collard green recipe: love them when made elsewhere. So dissappointed. I see others triple bacon. Maybe the extra bacon grease masks pepper. I'd also completely destem them in future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have prepared these collards fresh and frozen and they are wonderful! I have migraines so I use chicken broth with no MSG and Open Nature bacon that is wonderful to be a non-cured bacon!!! I like the idea of reading the reviewer that says she used 1 tsp of vinegar and and sugar (I did add this last time I prepared)! I will continue to use this recipe!!!! Fabulous! Miss Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardenbug161
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I've made this recipe twice with my home-grown collards, and both times it was fantastic! I add in diced turnips with the onions. Other than that, I follow the recipe as written. Nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Add 1 tbsp each of vinegar and sugar after adding chicken broth. Also, chop bacon and fry then add onions to saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Amazing!! I used twice the amount of bacon though just is I could use up the bacon. This is simple to make and delicious. I'm so happy no one else in the house likes collard greens. I get to have them all to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My Wife used this recipe with turnip greens and they were wonderful. I am not a big greens eater but I had seconds on these. She did not have olive oil so she used regular oil. Try them, you will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States