Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eric Volk
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I'm new to cooking so I decided to give this a go, minus not being prepped and ready with ingredients I managed to make a stellar meal. It was fantastic! My partner says it was probably hands down one of the best homemade Mac and cheese recipes he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Volk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
It was delicious! I made some substitutions and added some ingredients though: I used Dijon mustard instead of dried mustard, and I chopped up 3 jalapeno peppers instead of the hot pepper sauce. I added some shredded Swiss cheese and half a chopped onion to it. I added some cayenne pepper and mixed it and the chili pepper into the cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Super creamy and delicious! I added cream cheese, and made a lot of substitutions and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
As promised in the other reviews, this was really interesting and delicious. I made it as a side dish with barbeque burgers. I forgot to add the parmesan. I used shells and rigatoni and had some leftover green chilies in the frig so I threw those into the cheese sauce. I also doubled the crumbs. Can't wait to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ket
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today when some family came over for dinner. I used just under 8 cups of pasta and added more cheese which was great for serving seven adults. It's important to make sure you have the sauce pan at medium heat and maybe even on the higher side when starting to mix the butter and flour so that the following ingredients will thicken properly to create the cheese mixture. If you want to add some extra kick to the bread crumbs try adding 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper before sprinkling them over the dish prior to baking. Also, I like my mac and cheese a little more well done so I let it cook for around 40 minutes and it came out golden brown. Overall, it was an enjoyable dish that didn't take much effort and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
My sister's wedding was going to be in New Orleans. So, for her wedding shower, we decided to go with a Creole theme and this was one of the dishes I made. Was FABULOUS!!! Everyone thought so, even my Grandmother, who can be very picky! MAKE THIS DISH! And yes, increase the pasta to 2 1/2 cups as it is definitely a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is my go-to mac & cheese recipe. I add way more pasta to the mix (at least a full box, if not a box and then some). And I also do it all in one pot: boil pasta, make cheese mixture, mix cheese and pasta. I've also adapted the recipe by using standard cheeses and adding meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I make this ALL the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was awesome, I followed the recipe exactly except that I used skim milk instead of whole. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States