Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Totally awesome! Everyone at the christmas party (in New Orleans) LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
very spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great "kicked up" flavor. I didn't care for the bread crumb mixture on top, next time I'll leave it off and just sprinkle with the chili powder. Even my Kraft Mac&Chesse loving kids liked this - just don't call it Mac&Cheese, in our house this is called "yellow pasta". Also, didn't have the wagon wheel pasta, used rigatoni instead - worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I'm surprised how many people found this to be too spicy. It really isn't. I bet it would be great with some diced onion and tomato. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Good stuff! Little bit of a kick! My one year old loved it! Great for kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very tasty, but was quite soupy. Will reduce milk the next time. And yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was really, really good. I made a double recipe for a church potluck and it was gone right away! The only thing I did different was to use Havarti with Jalapenos instead of the pepper jack since I already had it in the house. I don't think it made a big difference though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Good! Even my kids loved it. No rotelle, so I used elbow macaroni. No dry mustard so I used a tbsp. of dijon. I doubled the pepperjack and made my own breadcrumbs. I cut back on the hot sauce in the whole dish but I did add more to my own when I served it. Kicked up indeed. I like! NOTE: This thickened up A LOT while sitting which wasn't a big deal for me but if a thicker sauce isn't your bag, you might want to add just a little more milk to your sauce. It could be because I doubled the cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Delicious! even without the crumb topping and cutting back slightly on the hot stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watergardengoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this tonight as a test for a dinner party next weekend. 1. I used 2% instead of whole milk. Do not do this as it breaks and makes for a chalky texture. 2. I used pepper cheddar instead of pepper jack since I had it on hand; probably no significant difference. 3. The pasta amount is definitely a typo. I used more like 2.5 cups. 4. Personally, the hot sauce heat level was fine or too low, but I did not love the vinegar aspect it added. Next time I will do a combo of jalapenos and cayenne. 5. I will add more mustard next time and mix the chili powder into the sauce. 6. I added parmesan to the bread crumb/butter mixture and melted in the microwave instead of in a pan. Worked beautifully and saved me a dish to wash. Overall, this is a really good recipe. I may just have a piggy husband, but 8 servings is debatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States