Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Finally mac & cheese with flavor. Did a couple of subs: used 1 T of dijon instead of dry mustard; used panko instead of regular bread crumbs; & did 1 C mexican 4-cheese mix & 1 C shredded cheddar jack. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a nice twist on regular mac and cheese! The spice in the sauce was really good and the chili powder mixed in the bread crumbs was a nice compliment. I made the recipe as is except I used a one lb box of elbow macaroni and increased the pepper jack to 1-1/2 cups. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Really good and I mix up Kielbasa slices into it so its that much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
is it me? I made this as the recipe said, I did not care for this mac and cheese. Gritty, too much vingery taste from the hot sauce. i won't be making this again, ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Actually 4 1/2, but that's not an option. I've been searching for the perfect mac n'cheese recipe for YEAR. This recipe is ALMOST perfect. I'm still searching for a CREAMY mac and cheese and haven't found it yet, but the flavors in this one are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I took this recipe and changed a few things and it turned out amazing! I used 2 tsp of dry mustard, doubled the hot sauce and used double cayenne instead of chili powder since I didn't have any. I also didn't have pepper jack so I used double the sharp cheese and parmesean. Then something my family uses for topping is ritz crackers crumbled instead of bread crumbs. It was pretty good for my first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truudster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Totally yummy....such a simple tasty recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great recipe! Used a whole box of rotini and worked perfect. Very creamy and love the spice. A little crispy bacon on the top and WOW. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I'm not sure why this got such amazing reviews. We love spicy food but the taste was just awful. Not a good flavor at all... especially the breadcrumbs on top... just terrible. We didn't end up eating it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Well Hyperpuppy, you sure made a few guys quite happy with this recipe! Honestly, other than adding my usual garlic and onion powders, I really didn't change much of anything. My only addition was to cover the top of the casserole with shredded cheese before the bread crumbs went on. Hey, you can't get enough cheese right! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States