Khoresht Fesenjaan (Chicken with Pomegranate Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is mighty tasty! WOW. So impressed with it. Even just the walnuts and pomegranate mixture in the first steps was amazing! (I might just use it as a PB&J replacement once in a while) ;-) Spices were fantastic, although you do have to love cardamom (who doesn't?!) I made mine using Pomegranate Molasses (basically just reduced juice with a bit of sugar and lemon juice). And you can easily adjust the saltiness and sweetness of this dish at the end to your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCUSS999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Great, easy fesen joon recipe. I am Iranian & used this recipe several times, well received by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This dish is absolutely amazing! This is supposed to be a very difficult Persian dish to make and it was my first time ever making the dish, but the recipe is so straight-forward and easy to follow. I used eggplant instead of squash because I didn't have squash and I had seen eggplants in other recipes for Fesenjoon and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Interesting change from the usual chicken casserole, enjoyed by all the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This extraordinary recipe was "A#1" with all of My family and friends who have had the chance to try it! Loved the smell of the spices while preparing it! Since I cannot get pomegranate juice here, I used fresh pomegranates and squeezed the juice from them! Great, natural taste! this recipe will definitely be added to my "family favorites"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Have made this recipe many times. You may eliminate the cardemom, the saffron and the butternut squash and it would still be a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This dish is absolutely divine. I leave out the saffron, because it is there just for the extra color anyway. I use fresh pomegranates as well--if this dish seems too tart, add a few teaspoons of honey, molasses, or sugar. I also add a teaspoon of cumin and a 1 clove of crushed garlic for more depth. Beautiful, this dish is not, but once people try it, they really love it. If you can't find pomegranates or pomegranate juice, you can substitute prune juice or cranberry juice for a similar effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This tastes good....but I find the texture odd with the granules of walnuts still somewhat intact (though I ground them in my food processor). And as the other person mentioned, it's not such an attractive dish. But again, it tastes good. Be sure to serve it alongside a colorful dish (such as a nice salad) to "spruce it up" color-wise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Tried this recipe last night and -- overall -- a tasty dish. I’ve had this several times in my favorite NYC Persian restaurant and would like to offer a few suggestions: 1.) In order to balance the potentially overpowering taste of the various spices, include about two tablespoons of lemon juice (or the juice of one lemon) and two or three tablespoons of sugar. This helps balance the flavor and seems more authentic to the dish – I think. 2.) Also, do watch the cooking time. Mine was ready in about 1 hour and 45 minutes. This is pretty close to the authentic way of preparing the dish. It is, however, an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
a lot of work to prepare. family only liked it. I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States