Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was absolutely perfect--it tasted just like the rice pudding at my favorite Indian restaurant. It does taste best chilled, imho. Thanks, Patrick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was awesome! I made a coupke changes, however: I did not use the rose water, and I made the dish vegan by substituting the milk with vanilla rice milk, and also used only half of the coconut milk, substituting soy coffee creamer for the other half. I toasted the nuts in a dry pan before adding them to the mixture which I think really brought out the flavor. When I served it, I dusted the bowls with just a tiny pinch of nutmeg. This went over REALLY well at the food co-op where I cook for the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Wow! I totally loved this recipe! I grew up with rice pudding but this is amazing. I added coconut flakes and used an 1 tablespoon orange simple syrup and 2 tablespoons white sugar. Really great and different taste! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! This is so very tasty. The flavors are all very subtle. I cheated and used aborio rice and cooked it for 45 minutes or so until the consistency was REALLY thick like regular rice pudding. I also used 4 packets of Splenda out of necessity and it was still delicious. P.S. Made this again and realized what a mistake it was to not use Basmati rice the first time...so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was wonderful. Very easy recipe to follow. Omitted the rose water and reg. milk. Used more coconut milk instead. Cooked up perfect. Husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is wonderful and so easy to make. It is as good as I've had in any Indian resturant. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Loved it - I added a tad more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLRANDALL
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
OH Yesssssss......... let me start with saying I have never had any type of rice pudding before. This is my very first experience with making and tasting rice pudding. W@W this was so good so creamy and geez so tasty. I am NOW a HUGE fan of rice pudding, I did follow recipe except for I added just about 1/4 cup more rice, a tad bit more of the cardamom, becuase I really love this spice, and topped my serving with toasted walnuts and toasted coconut flakes, this to me is super delicous:) Thank you so much for a great treat! Now my tummy is all warm inside;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMBOOPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I first made this about 3 years ago and am finally getting around to reviewing it. This is a great recipe. I haven't had authentic Kheer, but this is great. It is nice and creamy and not too sweet. A great combination of flavours. It's great warm and just as good cold. It sets when it cools. Now, when I want rice pudding, this is what I make. The rice to liquid ratio in this recipe is just fine. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
mmmm...I have made this twice now. It is flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States