Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! This is so very tasty. The flavors are all very subtle. I cheated and used aborio rice and cooked it for 45 minutes or so until the consistency was REALLY thick like regular rice pudding. I also used 4 packets of Splenda out of necessity and it was still delicious. P.S. Made this again and realized what a mistake it was to not use Basmati rice the first time...so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was awesome! I made a coupke changes, however: I did not use the rose water, and I made the dish vegan by substituting the milk with vanilla rice milk, and also used only half of the coconut milk, substituting soy coffee creamer for the other half. I toasted the nuts in a dry pan before adding them to the mixture which I think really brought out the flavor. When I served it, I dusted the bowls with just a tiny pinch of nutmeg. This went over REALLY well at the food co-op where I cook for the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was absolutely perfect--it tasted just like the rice pudding at my favorite Indian restaurant. It does taste best chilled, imho. Thanks, Patrick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I first made this about 3 years ago and am finally getting around to reviewing it. This is a great recipe. I haven't had authentic Kheer, but this is great. It is nice and creamy and not too sweet. A great combination of flavours. It's great warm and just as good cold. It sets when it cools. Now, when I want rice pudding, this is what I make. The rice to liquid ratio in this recipe is just fine. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Wow! I totally loved this recipe! I grew up with rice pudding but this is amazing. I added coconut flakes and used an 1 tablespoon orange simple syrup and 2 tablespoons white sugar. Really great and different taste! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was wonderful. Very easy recipe to follow. Omitted the rose water and reg. milk. Used more coconut milk instead. Cooked up perfect. Husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is wonderful and so easy to make. It is as good as I've had in any Indian resturant. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Loved it - I added a tad more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLRANDALL
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
OH Yesssssss......... let me start with saying I have never had any type of rice pudding before. This is my very first experience with making and tasting rice pudding. W@W this was so good so creamy and geez so tasty. I am NOW a HUGE fan of rice pudding, I did follow recipe except for I added just about 1/4 cup more rice, a tad bit more of the cardamom, becuase I really love this spice, and topped my serving with toasted walnuts and toasted coconut flakes, this to me is super delicous:) Thank you so much for a great treat! Now my tummy is all warm inside;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMBOOPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
mmmm...I have made this twice now. It is flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States