Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The quantities and times are accurate for this recipe. Kheer is not as thick as a Western-style rice pudding, and should be still be a bit fluid when cool. Often I have used substitutions in this recipe, depending on what I had on hand. Instead of ground cardamom, I use about 12 - 15 green cardamom pods (I like my cardamom!). The pods should go in with the milk to get the best flavour, and be fished out after cooking. Instead of sugar, I like to put in about a quarter of a small can of sweetened condensed milk. Instead of rose water, I add about 1/4 tsp of almond extract (and sometimes some vanilla extract). Unsweetened flaked coconut is another great addition or garnish. Chopped (and roasted/toasted) almonds, pistachios, and walnuts are delicious garnishes. Kheer is delicious warm or cold. When cooking the rice, I leave the pot uncovered and watch it carefully so it doesn't burn or boil over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My husband had 5 male guest from India and I made this dish for them. The guys recommendations; don't need to use coconut milk, use whole milk and not any low fat milk, need to cook a lot longer- about an hour. You can tell the rice is done when if you take a piece out and you should be able to smoosh it easily with your finger. I have more of a sweet tooth and I tried while cooking before I added the raisins and cardamom and loved it. I bet kids would like it also before the raisins, cardamom and rose water is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This recipe makes very nice kheer. The coconut milk is a creative addition that really enhanced the flavor. The liquid-to-rice ratio was perfect in the finished dessert, with the rice swimming in the delicately sweet, creamy base. This is a recipe I will enjoy making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm an Indian originally from Delhi. My mom is Bengali and Bengali's are OBSESSED with rice. And potatoes, too, but that is irrelevant. I agree with an earlier reviewer: coconut milk is not needed, at all, and yes the cooking time is longer; takes more than an hour when we make kheer at hom! and the BEST part about kheer is that it is traditionally served CHILLED. Once the kheer is cooked, take it off the stove, and let it cool down to room temperature, THEN you have to refrigerate it. There's very few milk-based Indian puddings that are served warm, and kheer is definitely not one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tRee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
kheer is supposed to be more liquid-y than traditional rice puddings! It's not meant to feel like a log sitting in your stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
The taste is all right, but I think the recipe amounts are off. I've never had authentic kheer and am just going off my experiences with rice puddings in general, but: 1) The ratio of liquid to rice seems off, especially given the cooking times. It's recommended that you simmer the mixture for 20 minutes, but it will take longer to boil down the milk mixture, as well as to cook the rice thoroughly. 2) It's my understanding that rice pudding is not served warm. After adding the cardamom and raisins, the pudding is still hot and therefore soupy. To get it to thicken like traditional rice puddings, you have to chill the mixture. I would recommend either lowering the amounts of each milk to 1.5 cups, or raising the amount of rice to about 3/4 c. Definitely simmer for a longer time-- at the very least, 35 minutes. To expedite the cooling process, put the pudding in its serving dish(es), then put that inside a larger pan/dish/tub and fill with ice water, then stick the whole thing in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was awesome! I made a coupke changes, however: I did not use the rose water, and I made the dish vegan by substituting the milk with vanilla rice milk, and also used only half of the coconut milk, substituting soy coffee creamer for the other half. I toasted the nuts in a dry pan before adding them to the mixture which I think really brought out the flavor. When I served it, I dusted the bowls with just a tiny pinch of nutmeg. This went over REALLY well at the food co-op where I cook for the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
OH Yesssssss......... let me start with saying I have never had any type of rice pudding before. This is my very first experience with making and tasting rice pudding. W@W this was so good so creamy and geez so tasty. I am NOW a HUGE fan of rice pudding, I did follow recipe except for I added just about 1/4 cup more rice, a tad bit more of the cardamom, becuase I really love this spice, and topped my serving with toasted walnuts and toasted coconut flakes, this to me is super delicous:) Thank you so much for a great treat! Now my tummy is all warm inside;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMBOOPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. My fiance, who is from India, absolutely loved it. Just a couple of things to keep in mind, however: Don't be surprised if you find yourself waiting for about 45 minutes or so before the pudding actually thickens. The suggested 20 minutes is a little short. Also, be careful not to overcook it. Kheer is supposed to be more watery than typical rice pudding, so don't panic! And it may appear at first that 1/2 cup of Basmati rice is not enough compared to all of the liquid needed, but it is actually perfect; don't add extra rice, or else it'll be too thick! I hope my suggestions helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Don't be put off by the texture of this pudding! Kheer is the original rice pudding, which became part of western cuisine through the British. I like this, but my husband and son didn't (too 'spicy' for them). I didn't have enough coconut milk, so I used more 1% milk than called for. The flavour is nice and somewhat creamy (would have been better and creamier with the proper proportion of coconut milk). I used a little more rose water and cardamom than stated, used sultana raisins, and added a pinch of cinnamon. Other tips: cook the rice as long as it takes for it to become porridge-like in consistency. After refrigerating the leftovers, the kheer thickens up, so you might want to add a bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States