Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a really good recipe! I think whomever was having issues with it being thin, perhaps didn't simmer at high enough heat because I found it a perfect consistency with the original cooking time and liquid amount. My only addition was a little flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was delicious, and easy to make. I added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg and sprinkled a little coconut on it as well. The coconut milk adds a lovely flavour. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
this is so easy to make and tastes even better than the rice pudding at our favorite India restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
When this is still warm I'm not the biggest fan, but let it cool overnight in the fridge! WOWSER! This stuff rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Absolute fantastic! I have been looking for a recipe that was like I had in Indian restaurants. I love that keer is not as sweet as american rice pudding. I don't like raisins so didn't use them and didn't have rose water. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. So easy and creamy. Have made this several times and will use it lots more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used some of the other comments, including using Sweetened Condensed Milk in place of sugar, and it turned out well. However I did have some burning due to heating up the milk too quickly. This ruined the batch so next time I'll have to stir it continuously!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This took me about 40 min on very low heat, stirring occasionally, to get the (uncooked) rice tender enough. My other stovetop rice pudding recipe calls for already-cooked rice, which is simmered with milk and stirred for about 20 min. I will probably do that next time with this recipe, to make sure my rice gets fully cooked. Anyway, the flavor, Wow! I love cardamom & I love rice pudding so this recipe is a keeper!! Would be great after a nice Indian meal. or anytime really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
4 stars b/c I changed the recipe and it's awesome now! I used 3 cups whole milk, 1 cup coconut milk, and added 1 tbsp extra sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I left out the raisins, rose water, and pistachios, and instead toasted almond slivers to mix in. I also cooked it for 40 mins to get the right consistency for the rice. I had to add about 1/2 cup more milk after it cooled a bit. Amazing! It tastes almost identical to the kheer at my local indian restaurant (served cold).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very Very good dessert. Very simple and it provides just enough sweet but not overwhelmed with sweetness. The raisens are just like little surprises as you take a spoonful. The addition of the nuts adds texture and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Wonderful recipe - I thankfully DID NOT take the advice of other reviewers and omit the coconut milk or rose water.....- the only substition I made was out of necessity - I was completely out of raisins and used chopped dates instead. This pudding can be served warm or cold and has a delightfully subtle flavor!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States