Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Close enough to perfect I'm happy to give it five stars. The ONLY thing I would change is giving it a little more sugar. It has a very soft sugar taste in its original form and I have a bit of a sweet tooth so that's mostly my issue. I halved this recipe according to what I had left of my coconut milk but kept the cardamom amount the same as the original--as another poster said, I like my cardamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made this the other night... Fabulous! I added a little extra raisins and next time i think I may add another quarter cup of rice... just seemed soupy to me... but DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I love indian style rice pudding. This is a good recipe for it. I did add another couple tablespoons of sugar towards the end. It was too thick for my taste when it finally cooled, so I also added more milk (1/2 cup) to make it soupy like it is at the restaurants. I also highly recommend adding a couple pinches of saffron threads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe. I added more rice until I got the consistancy I liked. I also added more milk. Kheer is supposed to be runny but I like mine thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was good but not exceptional. I only had brown rice, which was a mistake to use because it took almost an hour and a half to cook and it still wasn't cooked all the way. I didn't have cardamom, so I added pods to the milk while it heated up and cooked the rice. Mine ended up being pretty thick because of the long cooking time, but it had a good texture. It was my fault that it didn't turn out great, but it's still 4 stars for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very good traditional rice pudding. I ended up simmering for 50 minutes on low heat and adding 1/2 cup more milk from too much thickening. If I were to make this again I would use a bit less cardamom and would let the almonds soften a bit with the raisins. Best served cold. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I love this recipe! I make this all the time now and the only change I make is to triple the cardamom because I like the flavour. I also use golden raisins and slivered almonds. When I refrigerate it, I find that it thickens considerably so I add more milk to it to thin it to the proper consistency. Thank you for this wonderful addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was pretty good...since we're a single income family raising 5 kids, I could not justify spending over $10 on cardamom, so while the milk and coconut milk were heating, I put a chai tea bag in it to steep and flavor the milk. I also put in golden raisins, and slivered almonds. For those that like a "thicker" texture, just add a little more rice than is called for, but as was stated before, traditional Kheer is quite thin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm an Indian originally from Delhi. My mom is Bengali and Bengali's are OBSESSED with rice. And potatoes, too, but that is irrelevant. I agree with an earlier reviewer: coconut milk is not needed, at all, and yes the cooking time is longer; takes more than an hour when we make kheer at hom! and the BEST part about kheer is that it is traditionally served CHILLED. Once the kheer is cooked, take it off the stove, and let it cool down to room temperature, THEN you have to refrigerate it. There's very few milk-based Indian puddings that are served warm, and kheer is definitely not one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tRee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a really good recipe! I think whomever was having issues with it being thin, perhaps didn't simmer at high enough heat because I found it a perfect consistency with the original cooking time and liquid amount. My only addition was a little flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States