Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This isn't just GOOD, but crazy slap your mama good. I added MORE of the Rose Water and it made such a huge difference in taste and smell. I also used Organic Coconut Milk and it's certainly than cheap coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was craving the taste of the kheer I had the last time I had it at a restaurant. This filled the bill nicely. I picked this recipe because I thought coconut milk would round out the flavor and fragrance without rosewater, which I didn't have. It was just the right sweetness, and the cream from the coconut milk replaced the richness lost by my using 2% milk. I don't have anything against raisins but I left them out because the restaurant version I had didn't have them. It was simply delightful anyway. I can't wait to have it again when it's thoroughly chilled. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
It's not so sweet like the American version, but still tastes great. I'd recommend cooking the rice longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. My fiance, who is from India, absolutely loved it. Just a couple of things to keep in mind, however: Don't be surprised if you find yourself waiting for about 45 minutes or so before the pudding actually thickens. The suggested 20 minutes is a little short. Also, be careful not to overcook it. Kheer is supposed to be more watery than typical rice pudding, so don't panic! And it may appear at first that 1/2 cup of Basmati rice is not enough compared to all of the liquid needed, but it is actually perfect; don't add extra rice, or else it'll be too thick! I hope my suggestions helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was great! It tastes just like the kheer at my local Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Made this for an Indian friend for Maghi. I had never heard of it, nor had I made rice pudding before, but it was very interesting and I will definitely make it again. I used golden raisins, and didn't have any cardamom so I substituted cinnamon and cloves. Seemed to be ok. I preferred it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made this with the first four ingredients. Added dried cherries in place of the raisins, and sprinkled on a little lavender-infused sugar for the floral taste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very good, actually came out thicker than the Kheer I get at my favorite Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made this for company last evening. Was very easy to make, though I did have to add 1/4 cup of extra rice and simmer for 35minutes total. Otherwise, turned out great and my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States