Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made this with the first four ingredients. Added dried cherries in place of the raisins, and sprinkled on a little lavender-infused sugar for the floral taste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very good, actually came out thicker than the Kheer I get at my favorite Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made this for company last evening. Was very easy to make, though I did have to add 1/4 cup of extra rice and simmer for 35minutes total. Otherwise, turned out great and my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
An interesting twist on rice pudding. If you are using white rice, double the amount or it will be far too watery. I suggest being conservative with the rose water - a little goes a long way! Next time I will mix in only 1/4 teaspoon, then taste it and add drops until I reach the flavor I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Close enough to perfect I'm happy to give it five stars. The ONLY thing I would change is giving it a little more sugar. It has a very soft sugar taste in its original form and I have a bit of a sweet tooth so that's mostly my issue. I halved this recipe according to what I had left of my coconut milk but kept the cardamom amount the same as the original--as another poster said, I like my cardamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made this the other night... Fabulous! I added a little extra raisins and next time i think I may add another quarter cup of rice... just seemed soupy to me... but DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I love indian style rice pudding. This is a good recipe for it. I did add another couple tablespoons of sugar towards the end. It was too thick for my taste when it finally cooled, so I also added more milk (1/2 cup) to make it soupy like it is at the restaurants. I also highly recommend adding a couple pinches of saffron threads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe. I added more rice until I got the consistancy I liked. I also added more milk. Kheer is supposed to be runny but I like mine thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was good but not exceptional. I only had brown rice, which was a mistake to use because it took almost an hour and a half to cook and it still wasn't cooked all the way. I didn't have cardamom, so I added pods to the milk while it heated up and cooked the rice. Mine ended up being pretty thick because of the long cooking time, but it had a good texture. It was my fault that it didn't turn out great, but it's still 4 stars for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very good traditional rice pudding. I ended up simmering for 50 minutes on low heat and adding 1/2 cup more milk from too much thickening. If I were to make this again I would use a bit less cardamom and would let the almonds soften a bit with the raisins. Best served cold. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States