Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was delish. I didn't have everything on hand, so just the basics of this dish are great. I used coconut milk, unsweetened plain almond milk, thai sticky rice, and dunked in a Chai Tea bag for spices for about 3 min while the rice was cooking. Turned out perfectly. Tastes great warm, can't wait to try cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
It is perfect the way the recipe is written. I couldn't find rose water so didn't use any and it still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Excellent. I made a few substitutions- soy milk for normal milk, jasmine rice instead of basmati, no rose water and no pistachio. I am dairy free so substituting the milk was necessary. Recipe is wonderful. I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed this! The guys, however, did not and I was left to eat the entire pot of kheer. I think they just didn't like the flavour of cardamom (which is too bad, because it's delicious!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was a great recipe. I took a few people's suggestions and added 3/4 cup of Basmati instead of the 1/2 cup. Though now I can see that after it cools, the 1/2 cup would have been accurate! It does take more like 35-40 minutes for the rice to cook. And I'll probably leave out the optional rose water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This isn't just GOOD, but crazy slap your mama good. I added MORE of the Rose Water and it made such a huge difference in taste and smell. I also used Organic Coconut Milk and it's certainly than cheap coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was craving the taste of the kheer I had the last time I had it at a restaurant. This filled the bill nicely. I picked this recipe because I thought coconut milk would round out the flavor and fragrance without rosewater, which I didn't have. It was just the right sweetness, and the cream from the coconut milk replaced the richness lost by my using 2% milk. I don't have anything against raisins but I left them out because the restaurant version I had didn't have them. It was simply delightful anyway. I can't wait to have it again when it's thoroughly chilled. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
It's not so sweet like the American version, but still tastes great. I'd recommend cooking the rice longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. My fiance, who is from India, absolutely loved it. Just a couple of things to keep in mind, however: Don't be surprised if you find yourself waiting for about 45 minutes or so before the pudding actually thickens. The suggested 20 minutes is a little short. Also, be careful not to overcook it. Kheer is supposed to be more watery than typical rice pudding, so don't panic! And it may appear at first that 1/2 cup of Basmati rice is not enough compared to all of the liquid needed, but it is actually perfect; don't add extra rice, or else it'll be too thick! I hope my suggestions helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States