Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Excellent. I made a few substitutions- soy milk for normal milk, jasmine rice instead of basmati, no rose water and no pistachio. I am dairy free so substituting the milk was necessary. Recipe is wonderful. I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed this! The guys, however, did not and I was left to eat the entire pot of kheer. I think they just didn't like the flavour of cardamom (which is too bad, because it's delicious!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was a great recipe. I took a few people's suggestions and added 3/4 cup of Basmati instead of the 1/2 cup. Though now I can see that after it cools, the 1/2 cup would have been accurate! It does take more like 35-40 minutes for the rice to cook. And I'll probably leave out the optional rose water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This isn't just GOOD, but crazy slap your mama good. I added MORE of the Rose Water and it made such a huge difference in taste and smell. I also used Organic Coconut Milk and it's certainly than cheap coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was craving the taste of the kheer I had the last time I had it at a restaurant. This filled the bill nicely. I picked this recipe because I thought coconut milk would round out the flavor and fragrance without rosewater, which I didn't have. It was just the right sweetness, and the cream from the coconut milk replaced the richness lost by my using 2% milk. I don't have anything against raisins but I left them out because the restaurant version I had didn't have them. It was simply delightful anyway. I can't wait to have it again when it's thoroughly chilled. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
It's not so sweet like the American version, but still tastes great. I'd recommend cooking the rice longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. My fiance, who is from India, absolutely loved it. Just a couple of things to keep in mind, however: Don't be surprised if you find yourself waiting for about 45 minutes or so before the pudding actually thickens. The suggested 20 minutes is a little short. Also, be careful not to overcook it. Kheer is supposed to be more watery than typical rice pudding, so don't panic! And it may appear at first that 1/2 cup of Basmati rice is not enough compared to all of the liquid needed, but it is actually perfect; don't add extra rice, or else it'll be too thick! I hope my suggestions helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was great! It tastes just like the kheer at my local Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Made this for an Indian friend for Maghi. I had never heard of it, nor had I made rice pudding before, but it was very interesting and I will definitely make it again. I used golden raisins, and didn't have any cardamom so I substituted cinnamon and cloves. Seemed to be ok. I preferred it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States