Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I would have given this recipe 4.5 stars if I could. My fiance is from North India, and he loved it! We serve this dish chilled, and did not use raisins. I also didn't use rose water because I didn't have any at the time, but the taste was still very good. I also added a tablespoon more sugar, as we have a bit of a sweet tooth. Also, after chilling it, it may be necessary to add more milk as kheer is supposed to be a bit runny. Also, be sure to cook the rice long enough so that it is soft. Don't be surprised if your cooking time is over the suggested amount. Overall, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lattemily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This kheer is better than the kheer in most Indian restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
this was very good subbed the regular milk for Hemp milk/water. Toasted almonds, added a bit of vanilla extract, cinnamon and nutmeg. Also used jasmine rice 3/4. very tastey!!! this was a winner in my home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Really wanted to like this recipe. It sounded so good. Way too rich for my liking and also no flavour. If I make it again I'll make it with either regular whole milk or some amount of reduced fat milk and triple the spice. The rose water is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used brown Basmati rice (instead of white rice) for a healthier pudding, one can of 'light' coconut milk and I used original almond milk instead of cow's milk. It took about 2-3 hours for it to cook to a soft and not-watery consistency, but it was worth it! I added a handful more raisins, because I love them. I didn't have any rose water. And, I usually serve rice pudding warm. It was delicious! I'm now trying it with left-over rice and almond milk - the coconut milk is so high in saturated fats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I have searched high and low for a recipe that would make a perfect, hearty, Authentic Indian rice pudding...and this is it! It was incredibly easy, and my whole family, yound and old, keep asking for it. I'll make it again with all the ingredients listed. The subtleties of the rose water, etc. were what really made this special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Well it is more like 3.5 stars (couldn't really get the half start) but I thought there was a little too much coconut taste to it...I would cut the coconut in half and add more milk, also the sweetness was very subtle maybe add some honey?...Good start though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Wonderful! My preschooler and I made this to celebrate Diwali. I didn't have any white rice on hand, so I used our usual long grain brown rice and doubled the cooking time (just put the rice in with the milks & sugar and let it all heat up/boil together). I can also see doubling the cardamom, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was delish. I didn't have everything on hand, so just the basics of this dish are great. I used coconut milk, unsweetened plain almond milk, thai sticky rice, and dunked in a Chai Tea bag for spices for about 3 min while the rice was cooking. Turned out perfectly. Tastes great warm, can't wait to try cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
It is perfect the way the recipe is written. I couldn't find rose water so didn't use any and it still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States