Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Yumm! I followed as directed but did cook on low for longer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a fantastic rice pudding recipe. I'm always on the look out for something to fatten up my 3 year old son with and he always enjoys rice pudding when we go to our favourite Indian Restaurant. A few notes: I did not add the raisins or pistachios as my son doesn't like them. As a result I would add less sugar next time I make this as I found it a touch too sweet without the offsetting saltiness of the nuts. I also added a smidgeon less cardamom to cater more towards my toddlers taste buds. This however is a very delicious kick rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Turned out exactly like "real" Kheer from my favorite Indian restuarant. I used more milk than coconut milk (2:1) and doubled the recipe, as I had some regular milk close to expiration I needed to use up. Used skim, fyi. Still ended up with a nice, rich, coconut taste. Recommend mixing the powdered cardamom into a a few teaspoons of sugar, then adding this mixture to the cooked pudding. Otherwise, the cardamom may not disperse throughout the pudding, leaving small, dark lumps. I normally use less sugar than called for in recipes, as I don't like very sweet things, but I felt this recipe could use a bit more. No problem to add it at the end, so just make it as is, then add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
very good. I followed the recipe except that I reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp. I will make this again. The rose water, cardamom, and coconut milk are the main flavorants of this dish and I would not skip them. Otherwise, you will miss the flavorful touches that make Indian food so good. I found rose water in the ethnic section of Shoppers grocery store. The note of rose reminds me of rose gelato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
yessss yesss, the recipe that brought back childhood memories.The aromatic smell filled my home with warmth. I absolutly found a keeper of a recipe. I did use short grain rice only bc thats all i had on hand. I did put 2 and a half cups homo milk and coconut milk and use 2 caradmon pos and ground cardamon bc thats my favourite spice. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Prepared this recipe with lite coconut milk and fat free evaporated milk. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Wonderful -- best Kheer I've had. I'm cursing myself because I freaked out at how soupy it was, and added another 2 or 3 Tbsp rice -- big mistake, since it came out too thick, like an English rice pudding. The rice/milk ratio would have been perfect as written. Adaptations: I boiled 12 pods of green cardamom in the milk/coconut milk, rather than using ground cardamom, and spooned them out after about 20-30 minutes... the flavour was perfectly infused in the milk. I also used a bit too much rose water (about 1 tsp) by accident and it was perfect. I also used coconut cream, rather than coconut milk -- and I used whole milk too. My Indian friends always tell me that you can't get the proper taste with low fat milk, and the creaminess of this Kheer was excellent. I highly recommend taking the time to toast the sliced almonds... it takes the flavour of the nuts to a whole new level. Thanks to Patrick7 for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a traditional Pakistani dish. We LOVE this stuff. Every time I go home, I request my grandparents to make it for me. I love the creaminess of the dish. Jewish people also have a great version of rice pudding.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
very good, and authentic for the several Indian restaraunts I've tried. Nice change of pace from standard rice pudding, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States