Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Wonderful -- best Kheer I've had. I'm cursing myself because I freaked out at how soupy it was, and added another 2 or 3 Tbsp rice -- big mistake, since it came out too thick, like an English rice pudding. The rice/milk ratio would have been perfect as written. Adaptations: I boiled 12 pods of green cardamom in the milk/coconut milk, rather than using ground cardamom, and spooned them out after about 20-30 minutes... the flavour was perfectly infused in the milk. I also used a bit too much rose water (about 1 tsp) by accident and it was perfect. I also used coconut cream, rather than coconut milk -- and I used whole milk too. My Indian friends always tell me that you can't get the proper taste with low fat milk, and the creaminess of this Kheer was excellent. I highly recommend taking the time to toast the sliced almonds... it takes the flavour of the nuts to a whole new level. Thanks to Patrick7 for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a traditional Pakistani dish. We LOVE this stuff. Every time I go home, I request my grandparents to make it for me. I love the creaminess of the dish. Jewish people also have a great version of rice pudding.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
very good, and authentic for the several Indian restaraunts I've tried. Nice change of pace from standard rice pudding, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I would have given this recipe 4.5 stars if I could. My fiance is from North India, and he loved it! We serve this dish chilled, and did not use raisins. I also didn't use rose water because I didn't have any at the time, but the taste was still very good. I also added a tablespoon more sugar, as we have a bit of a sweet tooth. Also, after chilling it, it may be necessary to add more milk as kheer is supposed to be a bit runny. Also, be sure to cook the rice long enough so that it is soft. Don't be surprised if your cooking time is over the suggested amount. Overall, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lattemily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This kheer is better than the kheer in most Indian restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
this was very good subbed the regular milk for Hemp milk/water. Toasted almonds, added a bit of vanilla extract, cinnamon and nutmeg. Also used jasmine rice 3/4. very tastey!!! this was a winner in my home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Really wanted to like this recipe. It sounded so good. Way too rich for my liking and also no flavour. If I make it again I'll make it with either regular whole milk or some amount of reduced fat milk and triple the spice. The rose water is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used brown Basmati rice (instead of white rice) for a healthier pudding, one can of 'light' coconut milk and I used original almond milk instead of cow's milk. It took about 2-3 hours for it to cook to a soft and not-watery consistency, but it was worth it! I added a handful more raisins, because I love them. I didn't have any rose water. And, I usually serve rice pudding warm. It was delicious! I'm now trying it with left-over rice and almond milk - the coconut milk is so high in saturated fats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I have searched high and low for a recipe that would make a perfect, hearty, Authentic Indian rice pudding...and this is it! It was incredibly easy, and my whole family, yound and old, keep asking for it. I'll make it again with all the ingredients listed. The subtleties of the rose water, etc. were what really made this special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States