Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Yumm! I followed as directed but did cook on low for longer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a fantastic rice pudding recipe. I'm always on the look out for something to fatten up my 3 year old son with and he always enjoys rice pudding when we go to our favourite Indian Restaurant. A few notes: I did not add the raisins or pistachios as my son doesn't like them. As a result I would add less sugar next time I make this as I found it a touch too sweet without the offsetting saltiness of the nuts. I also added a smidgeon less cardamom to cater more towards my toddlers taste buds. This however is a very delicious kick rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Turned out exactly like "real" Kheer from my favorite Indian restuarant. I used more milk than coconut milk (2:1) and doubled the recipe, as I had some regular milk close to expiration I needed to use up. Used skim, fyi. Still ended up with a nice, rich, coconut taste. Recommend mixing the powdered cardamom into a a few teaspoons of sugar, then adding this mixture to the cooked pudding. Otherwise, the cardamom may not disperse throughout the pudding, leaving small, dark lumps. I normally use less sugar than called for in recipes, as I don't like very sweet things, but I felt this recipe could use a bit more. No problem to add it at the end, so just make it as is, then add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
very good. I followed the recipe except that I reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp. I will make this again. The rose water, cardamom, and coconut milk are the main flavorants of this dish and I would not skip them. Otherwise, you will miss the flavorful touches that make Indian food so good. I found rose water in the ethnic section of Shoppers grocery store. The note of rose reminds me of rose gelato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
yessss yesss, the recipe that brought back childhood memories.The aromatic smell filled my home with warmth. I absolutly found a keeper of a recipe. I did use short grain rice only bc thats all i had on hand. I did put 2 and a half cups homo milk and coconut milk and use 2 caradmon pos and ground cardamon bc thats my favourite spice. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Prepared this recipe with lite coconut milk and fat free evaporated milk. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Wonderful -- best Kheer I've had. I'm cursing myself because I freaked out at how soupy it was, and added another 2 or 3 Tbsp rice -- big mistake, since it came out too thick, like an English rice pudding. The rice/milk ratio would have been perfect as written. Adaptations: I boiled 12 pods of green cardamom in the milk/coconut milk, rather than using ground cardamom, and spooned them out after about 20-30 minutes... the flavour was perfectly infused in the milk. I also used a bit too much rose water (about 1 tsp) by accident and it was perfect. I also used coconut cream, rather than coconut milk -- and I used whole milk too. My Indian friends always tell me that you can't get the proper taste with low fat milk, and the creaminess of this Kheer was excellent. I highly recommend taking the time to toast the sliced almonds... it takes the flavour of the nuts to a whole new level. Thanks to Patrick7 for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a traditional Pakistani dish. We LOVE this stuff. Every time I go home, I request my grandparents to make it for me. I love the creaminess of the dish. Jewish people also have a great version of rice pudding.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
very good, and authentic for the several Indian restaraunts I've tried. Nice change of pace from standard rice pudding, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States