Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins. This was great, subtly sweet. You could even have this for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffyw410
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made this to bring to friends' Indian themed dinner. Really lovely texture, just the right sweetness, and a divine aroma. Used almost exact recipe except used vanilla sugar (sugar stored with vanilla bean in it), couldn't find rosewater, and had whole cardamom what I steeped in the milk. Took the recommendation of others to simmer for closer to an hour. Served chilled. Garnished with toasted almonds and dusting of Saigon Cinnamon Made 6, 1/2 cup servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I love Kheer, and I loved this recipe. I added a bit of vanilla and used only pistachios (was out of almonds) but otherwise made as written. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I didn't have rose water, but as suggested by another reviewer, I used vanilla extract instead. Used seven cardamom pods and didn't have crushed pistachios so left them out unfortunately. I think I might have cooked it ten or so minutes longer than called for as it was a bit thick, but I prefer it to be a bit thicker anyway. Very rich and creamy if you use whole coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This had a nice flavor but took much longer to cook than suggested. It's important to eat it right away, though, as it becomes thick and heavy if you wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
So, I tried this recipe, mind you I have grown up eating kheer. A few things, I saw some of you mentioned about cooking time, what I did different was put this on high heat instead of low. It was done in a reasonable time. My problem didn't have enough milk in the house. Anyway, I added toasted coconut shavings (did them on stove top before making the kheer) and nutmeg powder as one of the reviewers recommended. Also I have a horrible sweet tooth, so I added a little more than 1/4 cup of sugar to this recipe. you don't really need coconut milk, made this with whole milk brought at gas station.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nnmehta

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
FINALLY!! A kheer recipe just like my favorite Indian restaurant's. It is spot on with the ingredients I just tweaked the ratio for my preferences. It was my first time trying, so I took the recommendations and omitted the coconut milk and used whole milk instead. I like the texture to be more soupy than pudding like so I would decrease rice amount or increase milk amount for that. Also I cannot get enough of the cardamom spice so I doubled it. I only had whole cardamom so improvised and put 1 teaspoon amount into a tea bag and steeped for half the cooking time to infuse milk as it boiled. It was also my first time using rose water for cooking and not for my face! LOL it tasted great in this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I wanted a non-dairy pudding that used leftover rice so used: - 2/3 C cooked rice - 1 C coconut milk - 2 T sugar - 1/4 t rose water (which I had on hand; this is optional and certainly an acquired taste) - 1/8 to 1/4 t cardamon (I eyeballed it. Try cinnamon or nutmeg if you don't have cardamon.) - 1/8 C raisins - 1/4 C almonds It was yummy! I will try it cold when the weather warms back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was okay. No one was really wowed by it the way we've been wowed by kheer in Indian restaurants. Maybe it wasn't sweet enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States