Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
The taste is all right, but I think the recipe amounts are off. I've never had authentic kheer and am just going off my experiences with rice puddings in general, but: 1) The ratio of liquid to rice seems off, especially given the cooking times. It's recommended that you simmer the mixture for 20 minutes, but it will take longer to boil down the milk mixture, as well as to cook the rice thoroughly. 2) It's my understanding that rice pudding is not served warm. After adding the cardamom and raisins, the pudding is still hot and therefore soupy. To get it to thicken like traditional rice puddings, you have to chill the mixture. I would recommend either lowering the amounts of each milk to 1.5 cups, or raising the amount of rice to about 3/4 c. Definitely simmer for a longer time-- at the very least, 35 minutes. To expedite the cooling process, put the pudding in its serving dish(es), then put that inside a larger pan/dish/tub and fill with ice water, then stick the whole thing in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I' give you three and a half if I could. While it does taste yummy, and was easy to make it's still a little off from the other kheer. To the other person who responded, Kheer is what could be considered like american rice pudding. It is not anywhere near as thick or super sweet as the american version. This can be served hot or cold. (though I like it at room temp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This recipe makes very nice kheer. The coconut milk is a creative addition that really enhanced the flavor. The liquid-to-rice ratio was perfect in the finished dessert, with the rice swimming in the delicately sweet, creamy base. This is a recipe I will enjoy making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was absolutely perfect--it tasted just like the rice pudding at my favorite Indian restaurant. It does taste best chilled, imho. Thanks, Patrick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was awesome! I made a coupke changes, however: I did not use the rose water, and I made the dish vegan by substituting the milk with vanilla rice milk, and also used only half of the coconut milk, substituting soy coffee creamer for the other half. I toasted the nuts in a dry pan before adding them to the mixture which I think really brought out the flavor. When I served it, I dusted the bowls with just a tiny pinch of nutmeg. This went over REALLY well at the food co-op where I cook for the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I just made this! I wanted to make kheer with coconut milk, since it was the coconutiness I was lusting for. It came out great: the pudding was just thick enough, though still a little soupy; it was tasty, and not too sweet, which is what I like; and eating it warm (instead of cold, as in the restaurants) made me feel wonderful and sleepy. I did make some alterations -- I added a little vanilla sugar, did not use the pistachios or rose water, but did add some (untoasted) coconut flakes on top, to enhance the coconut flavour. Also, I loved the raisins in the pudding, but my boyfriend didn't -- he said it was being "untrue to the taste of the pudding."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I liked this alot, but it cooked up too thick for my taste so I stirred in some extra milk at the end to thin it out. I didn't have rosewater so I stirred in a couple tablespoons of honey to give it a flowery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Wow! I totally loved this recipe! I grew up with rice pudding but this is amazing. I added coconut flakes and used an 1 tablespoon orange simple syrup and 2 tablespoons white sugar. Really great and different taste! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I have never had a rice pudding like this. It was delicious and light tasting. I think I would like a little more vanilla. The coconut milk is a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! This is so very tasty. The flavors are all very subtle. I cheated and used aborio rice and cooked it for 45 minutes or so until the consistency was REALLY thick like regular rice pudding. I also used 4 packets of Splenda out of necessity and it was still delicious. P.S. Made this again and realized what a mistake it was to not use Basmati rice the first time...so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States