Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Soooo good! At the suggestion of other reviewers, I added a little vanilla and cinnamon and a tiny tiny dash of almond extract. It really complemented the flavors. I will definitely be making this again. We had it with coconut curry chicken and naan from this website and everything was fantastic and went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this for a dinner party where everyone made an indian dish. We had a couple vegans in the group so I substituted the milk w/ vanilla soy milk. I didn't have rose water so omitted that. I had to cook it for longer than the recipe called for, maybe 30-40 minutes. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wonderful recipe, have made several times and always with great results and taste. Important to cook rice uncovered to evaporate some of liquid. Be careful not to overcook rice (will still be soupy when rice becomes tender, but thickens up a lot as it cools).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I only had 1 can of coconut milk so I used a little more milk...it came out the perfect consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Marie Aldinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Runnemede, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I must say that I was really hoping to like this recipe much more than I did. It was creamy, but not as good as similar recipes I've had in Indian restaurants. Additionally, when I looked at the nutrition numbers (unfortunately after I'd already started making it), I was shocked to see how much fat is in one serving--33 grams!! I guess I should have looked more carefully at the nutrition label on the can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I love rice pudding, and this recipe is great! I made this with almond milk and agave and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Don't be put off by the texture of this pudding! Kheer is the original rice pudding, which became part of western cuisine through the British. I like this, but my husband and son didn't (too 'spicy' for them). I didn't have enough coconut milk, so I used more 1% milk than called for. The flavour is nice and somewhat creamy (would have been better and creamier with the proper proportion of coconut milk). I used a little more rose water and cardamom than stated, used sultana raisins, and added a pinch of cinnamon. Other tips: cook the rice as long as it takes for it to become porridge-like in consistency. After refrigerating the leftovers, the kheer thickens up, so you might want to add a bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
The flavor and texture are excellent. I added more rice and it came out fine, but I actually think that the amount of rice in the recipe is very appropriate. Kheer is not like the European/American rice puddings--it's meant to be more "liquidy." Mine, because I added more rice and cooked without the pot lid, came out to be more dense and firm. By the way, when the milk and rice is boiling, it tends to overflow and create a mess if you aren't watching it. I used almond extract as recommended by another reviewer, but I honestly think that the coconut flavor is strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
mmmm...I have made this twice now. It is flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States