Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
4 stars b/c I changed the recipe and it's awesome now! I used 3 cups whole milk, 1 cup coconut milk, and added 1 tbsp extra sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I left out the raisins, rose water, and pistachios, and instead toasted almond slivers to mix in. I also cooked it for 40 mins to get the right consistency for the rice. I had to add about 1/2 cup more milk after it cooled a bit. Amazing! It tastes almost identical to the kheer at my local indian restaurant (served cold).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very Very good dessert. Very simple and it provides just enough sweet but not overwhelmed with sweetness. The raisens are just like little surprises as you take a spoonful. The addition of the nuts adds texture and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Wonderful recipe - I thankfully DID NOT take the advice of other reviewers and omit the coconut milk or rose water.....- the only substition I made was out of necessity - I was completely out of raisins and used chopped dates instead. This pudding can be served warm or cold and has a delightfully subtle flavor!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Outstanding! I think next time, I will add a little more rose water, as the rice pudding I get at Indian restaurants usually has a stronger rose flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I had to simmer at least 30-40 mins extra for it to thicken a bit. I followed the rest exactly, except for omitting the raisins due to personal preference. My kids loved it! The texture is different from what you get with long grain or arborio rice. Less creamy or fluffy. However, the fact that my kids asked for seconds and thirds means that this recipe deserves a FIVE star in my book! Very easy, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I thought it tasted much before before I added the cardamom. Perhaps, if you're expecting a more smooth/creamy dessert, add less cardamom than called for. I also added about 1/3 cup more rice and cooked it for a bit longer to make it more soft, but it was still a little hard for my liking. Overall, though, very simple, good tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldoug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Not my favorite. I added more rose water and cardomon, some cinnamon and a pinch of saffron threads soaked in 1 Tbsp of hot milk. However it is still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I just made this today for our Indian Potluck and it was a hit! I love it. I know I am just a beginner at these things but I really enjoyed this recipe. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Great taste and texture! I used 3/4c rice and 14oz can of coconut milk with an equal part of regular milk and added a few green cardamom pods that were removed at the end. Followed directions as posted (only needed to simmer 20 minutes). Finished off recipe with crushed almonds and a dash of vanilla. I was a little hesitant because I don't normally like coconut but the flavor blends uniquely and subtly with the cardamom and almond. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Definitely needs to simmer for an hour, and in my opinion tastes best hot! FANTASTIC flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Meadows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Lane, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States