Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was okay. No one was really wowed by it the way we've been wowed by kheer in Indian restaurants. Maybe it wasn't sweet enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I eat at an Indian Restaurant near my home at least twice a month and their kheer tastes EXACTLY like this recipe. I didn't use rose water but everything else was spot on. I even paid more than I was comfortable for the ground cardamom but as soon as I opened that jar of spice, I knew I was on the right track. I agree that kheer is served cold and even though the mixture was really runny when I put it in the fridge, it started soaking up the "juice" and became creamy and good. I did end up cooking it longer than the recipe said only because I lost track of time while I was cooking other things. I stirred it every few minutes and by the time I looked at the clock it had been cooking on the stovetop for 50 minutes. Didn't seem to affect it one bit. I am wondering how well this would do in a crock pot on low for several hours? That may be something I will try soon. Goodness knows, I need to use up that cardamom that I paid royally for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is a wonderful base recipe that yields a tasty treat in under an hour. The cook time was correct, but I did make a few changes to the ingredient list. I used whole milk (like Jenny B's suggestion) since the recipe did not specify what kind (2%, whole, skim)... I also used vanilla instead of the rose water and scratched the raisins. It was super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Amazing Kheer recipe! This is my first time making it. I've eaten Indian food about five times so far in the past few months. The closest Indian restaurant is about 40 mins away. I crave chicken jalfezi, gulab jamen and kheer many times. This recipe is supreme compared to the restaurant. My parents loved it! I couldn't wait for it to chill as I was tasting as it was cooking. I could eat this as oatmeal! I used 7 tbsp of Dixie sugar. I had to shell about 20 pistachios and beat them in a plastic bag. I cooked the rice for about 25-30 mins. Heating on 2 was too slow so low heat of 3 and 4 is ideal. I will keep this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Msjenita08

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Yumm! I followed as directed but did cook on low for longer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a fantastic rice pudding recipe. I'm always on the look out for something to fatten up my 3 year old son with and he always enjoys rice pudding when we go to our favourite Indian Restaurant. A few notes: I did not add the raisins or pistachios as my son doesn't like them. As a result I would add less sugar next time I make this as I found it a touch too sweet without the offsetting saltiness of the nuts. I also added a smidgeon less cardamom to cater more towards my toddlers taste buds. This however is a very delicious kick rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Turned out exactly like "real" Kheer from my favorite Indian restuarant. I used more milk than coconut milk (2:1) and doubled the recipe, as I had some regular milk close to expiration I needed to use up. Used skim, fyi. Still ended up with a nice, rich, coconut taste. Recommend mixing the powdered cardamom into a a few teaspoons of sugar, then adding this mixture to the cooked pudding. Otherwise, the cardamom may not disperse throughout the pudding, leaving small, dark lumps. I normally use less sugar than called for in recipes, as I don't like very sweet things, but I felt this recipe could use a bit more. No problem to add it at the end, so just make it as is, then add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
very good. I followed the recipe except that I reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp. I will make this again. The rose water, cardamom, and coconut milk are the main flavorants of this dish and I would not skip them. Otherwise, you will miss the flavorful touches that make Indian food so good. I found rose water in the ethnic section of Shoppers grocery store. The note of rose reminds me of rose gelato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
yessss yesss, the recipe that brought back childhood memories.The aromatic smell filled my home with warmth. I absolutly found a keeper of a recipe. I did use short grain rice only bc thats all i had on hand. I did put 2 and a half cups homo milk and coconut milk and use 2 caradmon pos and ground cardamon bc thats my favourite spice. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States