Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I only had 1 can of coconut milk so I used a little more milk...it came out the perfect consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Marie Aldinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Runnemede, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I must say that I was really hoping to like this recipe much more than I did. It was creamy, but not as good as similar recipes I've had in Indian restaurants. Additionally, when I looked at the nutrition numbers (unfortunately after I'd already started making it), I was shocked to see how much fat is in one serving--33 grams!! I guess I should have looked more carefully at the nutrition label on the can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I love rice pudding, and this recipe is great! I made this with almond milk and agave and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Don't be put off by the texture of this pudding! Kheer is the original rice pudding, which became part of western cuisine through the British. I like this, but my husband and son didn't (too 'spicy' for them). I didn't have enough coconut milk, so I used more 1% milk than called for. The flavour is nice and somewhat creamy (would have been better and creamier with the proper proportion of coconut milk). I used a little more rose water and cardamom than stated, used sultana raisins, and added a pinch of cinnamon. Other tips: cook the rice as long as it takes for it to become porridge-like in consistency. After refrigerating the leftovers, the kheer thickens up, so you might want to add a bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
The flavor and texture are excellent. I added more rice and it came out fine, but I actually think that the amount of rice in the recipe is very appropriate. Kheer is not like the European/American rice puddings--it's meant to be more "liquidy." Mine, because I added more rice and cooked without the pot lid, came out to be more dense and firm. By the way, when the milk and rice is boiling, it tends to overflow and create a mess if you aren't watching it. I used almond extract as recommended by another reviewer, but I honestly think that the coconut flavor is strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
mmmm...I have made this twice now. It is flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My husband had 5 male guest from India and I made this dish for them. The guys recommendations; don't need to use coconut milk, use whole milk and not any low fat milk, need to cook a lot longer- about an hour. You can tell the rice is done when if you take a piece out and you should be able to smoosh it easily with your finger. I have more of a sweet tooth and I tried while cooking before I added the raisins and cardamom and loved it. I bet kids would like it also before the raisins, cardamom and rose water is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The quantities and times are accurate for this recipe. Kheer is not as thick as a Western-style rice pudding, and should be still be a bit fluid when cool. Often I have used substitutions in this recipe, depending on what I had on hand. Instead of ground cardamom, I use about 12 - 15 green cardamom pods (I like my cardamom!). The pods should go in with the milk to get the best flavour, and be fished out after cooking. Instead of sugar, I like to put in about a quarter of a small can of sweetened condensed milk. Instead of rose water, I add about 1/4 tsp of almond extract (and sometimes some vanilla extract). Unsweetened flaked coconut is another great addition or garnish. Chopped (and roasted/toasted) almonds, pistachios, and walnuts are delicious garnishes. Kheer is delicious warm or cold. When cooking the rice, I leave the pot uncovered and watch it carefully so it doesn't burn or boil over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Yummy! I make extra rice just for this! I don't use coconut milk or the rose water and it turns out just fine. I did add a bit of almond oil to the rice's cooking water. Ground cardamom works fine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States