Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Made this with reduced quantities and it was easy and delicious. Used some tomatoes from our garden that I dried and froze. Therefore no oil except a little I used to saute seafood etc. Added a touch of garlic. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
AWESOME and impressive restaurant quality dish! Only input- used bay scallops and they got lost in the dish. Pat dry seafood to help cut down on water. Maybe even sauté scallops separately? Sundried toms definitely need to be sliced up. I left our olives because I am not a fan but I can see how they would really add to the dish- guess the suggested capers would be a nice fill in. Made our own artichoke hearts out of 8 small artichokes from Trader Joe's (2 packs of four). This adds much more prep time, of course but they were so good! If you choose to try-Clean chokes, de-hair, slice up and drop in lemon water bath to prevent the immediate browning effect. Steamed for about 7 mins til tender, add as directed. To solve the need to thicken the sauce without overcooking the seafood, we used the butter technique: turn off heat when done cooking, add 1/4 stick of butter and stir until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We went with a 14-15 ounce can of artichoke hearts packed in water, which we reserved and used to adjust the consistency since we only used half the cream. We also added a few cloves of minced garlic, chopped the artichokes and julienned the tomatoes. Really an outstanding combination of flavors that takes to any number of impromptu spice additions. A great recipe to sneak in some whole wheat pasta, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randeer
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this as a non- meat option for a Christmas family gathering, had a "Key West" theme going. Everyone raved about this dish, huge hit! Had great flavor. I made one change to cut back on some of the fat. I cut the cream in half and replaced with a cup of non-fat plain Greek yogurt. Definitely making this again, will be experimenting with ways to reduce the fat content, yet keeping the creaminess and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
So good! Tastes like its from a restaurant. I love olives...but I didn't like them in this. I thought they were a bit overpowering against the seafood. I will definitely be making this again! (without the olives)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was amazing! The creme sauce was so delish...i added chicken to mine instead of seafood but it was so good i will deff be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
added garlic as suggested in other posts. Avoiding carbs at the moment so opted for roasted zuchinni and eggplant instead of pasta. will add mushrooms to the mix next time. Wonderful base recipe. will be using again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Not a fan at all. Way too soupy. Pretty bland sauce anyway, its just cream and paremsan cheese. I wont make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Loved, loved, loved this! Made the following modifications: started by sauteing garlic in a little butter, added frozen shrimp (didn't have scallops), marinated artichokes (drained, from a jar), roasted red, yellow & orange bell peppers (drained - from a jar), olives, capers, a little salt & pepper. Skipped the cream and added some flour to thicken the juice from the ingredients. Used whole wheat pasta. Added parmesan and asiago cheeses. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is a favorite at our house. We don't always have scallops but it still taste delicious with just shrimp. Often I'll simmer the shrimp and artichokes in white wine. My husband and I enjoy a thicker sauce too so I sprinkle flour into the sauce until it reaches desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States