Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a masterpiece! I was able to make a "healthy" version of this recipe. I used Ronzoni whole wheat blend spaghetti instead of Penne. I think this is the best whole wheat pasta out there because it doesnt have a gritty texture and actually tastes like pasta. I used fat free half and half instead of cream and thickened it with 1tsp cornstarch dissolved in a little water before pouring it in. I also suggest topping this with some fresh chopped parsley. This was fast and delicious. Thanks Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
DEE-lious! I coarsely chopped the artichokes and julienned the tomatoes (drained, by the way. But reserve a couple of tbsp of the oil), as suggested by others. Made a couple of additions... Saute a couple of large cloves of garlic in the reserved oil until soft and fragrant, dicard garlic. Add shrimp and/or scallops, sprinkle with 1/8 - 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. Stir and cook a minute, then add the artichokes, tomatoes and 1 tbsp fresh or 1 tsp dried basil. After adding the cream and parmesan, stir in the chopped olives and 1 - 2 tbsp drained capers, salt and white pepper to taste. Toss with the pasta and heat through. I served it with a caesar salad and garlic bread. My boyfriend went crazy, he loved it. Says it in his top ten fav's. Kudos to Traci for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Didn't follow exactly,but the base premise of it is great! I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic in olive oil, added juileened sun dried tomato's, added 1 pound of scallops and 1/2lb. shrimp, 1 large handful of baby spinach. Sauteed, deglazed pan w/ 1/4 to 1/2 c. of dry sherry. Added 1/2 and 1/2 and about 1/4 c. of parmesean cheese. Served over pasta. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
My husband gives this recipe a "10." Something he's only done a few times in the ten years I've been cooking for him. Next time I would julienne the sundried tomatoes and chop the artichoke hearts (maybe the olives, too) so that I could get a little bit of everything in one forkful. The flavors are heavenly! Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I used all listed except I used 1/4 of a pint of cream. I think the reason some found it to have too much juice is because when the scallops are cooked, they add juice. I strained out the juice and reduced it, added 1/2 of the small carton of cream, cooked it and then added it back to the scallop/shrimp mixture. Then, I added 1/2 the pasta. This way, there is more seafood and less pasta to enjoy. It turned our perfect. My husband loved it and asked that I make it again. I had cooked up the whole package of pasta and used the other half the following night to make a cold pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Absolutely yummy. The only change I made, was (of course!!) the addition of garlic, just sauted in the pan in some olive oil before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Really tasty... found I didn't quite have enough sauce so had to whip up a little something else for the left overs. A couple changes, we're not fans of olives so we took those out. Drained the sundried tomatoes (only used a bit of the oil). Chopped those and the artichokes into smaller pieces. Instead of cream I used milk with cornstarch, and about a 1/4 cup of white wine. (Would have added more but it was all I had left!) Added garlic! Was a bit bland before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I like all the stuff in this recipe, but I think it gets too liquidy. Plus, it makes A LOT! It's easy to scale to the size of your party. My advice is to be careful with the heavy cream. Also, I buy the frozen shrimp (no-tail) and scallops. They work great, don't be afraid to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I thought this was delicious and actually easier to make than I expected. We used thawed frozen sea scallops and peeled and deveined shrimp (uncooked) for this dish. I diced everything pretty small per some reviews so I could get a little of everything in every bite. I used fat free half and half to make it a little healtheir and mixed in a couple tablespoons of flour to the half and half before adding it in as I like my sauces pretty thick and creamy. Finally, I added about 4 or 5 leaves of fresh basil at the last minute because I had it on hand in the garden. I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe.... it wouldn't be too hard to have all of the ingredients on hand without making bi-weekly trips to the store. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I made this for my aunt, wife, and 2 kids. Everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was I removed the olives (we all hate olives) and added 1 pound of back-fin crabmeat. The crab gave it a thick texture that was off the hook. Very easy to make. Just make sure you follow the recipe for cooking procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States