Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Sooooo good. I made this for my girl friend and got major brownie points. I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Junction City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Didn't follow exactly,but the base premise of it is great! I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic in olive oil, added juileened sun dried tomato's, added 1 pound of scallops and 1/2lb. shrimp, 1 large handful of baby spinach. Sauteed, deglazed pan w/ 1/4 to 1/2 c. of dry sherry. Added 1/2 and 1/2 and about 1/4 c. of parmesean cheese. Served over pasta. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I used fat free half and half but otherwise followed the directions and it's good. However, I think it would be better vegetarian or maybe with chicken. I like scallops for their light, buttery flavor and texture which got lost in the heavy sauce. On the other hand, my husband doesn't like scallops and he went back for seconds. So, I guess it's a matter of personal preference. Next time I'll save my scallops for a lighter dish, but I'll keep this recipe because I thought the rest of it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow, hands down my favorite recipe on this site. Definitely add some garlic and julienne the Sun dried tomatoes, other than that, this is bliss. The flavors are so wonderful together, just be careful not to get too many biiter olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birchrunville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a masterpiece! I was able to make a "healthy" version of this recipe. I used Ronzoni whole wheat blend spaghetti instead of Penne. I think this is the best whole wheat pasta out there because it doesnt have a gritty texture and actually tastes like pasta. I used fat free half and half instead of cream and thickened it with 1tsp cornstarch dissolved in a little water before pouring it in. I also suggest topping this with some fresh chopped parsley. This was fast and delicious. Thanks Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was so good, but I didn't have all ingredients on hand so I had to modify. Cooked up 2 cloves of minced garlic in butter then added SDT, artichoke, shrimp and scallops. Cooked around 7 minutes. I took the shrimp out because I didn't want to overcook them and put them back in toward the end...add 1/3 cup of white wine and simmer for 3 minutes. Slowly add 8oz of heavy cream and bring to an almost simmer. Without straining the cook pasta just add it to the sauce with P. cheese and let simmer for a few minutes. I did cut up some (maybe 8) olives and added them. I just used what shrimp and scallops were in the freezer...it wasn't a pound and I didn't use the whole jar of artichoke or SDT either. I just added what I thought would be enough. Served with a baguette and butter. So, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
We love this recipe. Of course we only make it once in awhile, very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made this sans artichokes and it was a HUGE hit! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was very good and easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was super easy and awesome. My girlfriend and I had another couple over, served with homemade Caesar Salad, & breadsticks this was a winner. We left out the olives as they didn't seem to go and used half & half for the cream. We also used mozerrella cheese (not a ton) and grated parm. Will make this again for the parental units when they visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountsnowfish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Wardsboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States