Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I used fat free half and half but otherwise followed the directions and it's good. However, I think it would be better vegetarian or maybe with chicken. I like scallops for their light, buttery flavor and texture which got lost in the heavy sauce. On the other hand, my husband doesn't like scallops and he went back for seconds. So, I guess it's a matter of personal preference. Next time I'll save my scallops for a lighter dish, but I'll keep this recipe because I thought the rest of it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow, hands down my favorite recipe on this site. Definitely add some garlic and julienne the Sun dried tomatoes, other than that, this is bliss. The flavors are so wonderful together, just be careful not to get too many biiter olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birchrunville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a masterpiece! I was able to make a "healthy" version of this recipe. I used Ronzoni whole wheat blend spaghetti instead of Penne. I think this is the best whole wheat pasta out there because it doesnt have a gritty texture and actually tastes like pasta. I used fat free half and half instead of cream and thickened it with 1tsp cornstarch dissolved in a little water before pouring it in. I also suggest topping this with some fresh chopped parsley. This was fast and delicious. Thanks Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was so good, but I didn't have all ingredients on hand so I had to modify. Cooked up 2 cloves of minced garlic in butter then added SDT, artichoke, shrimp and scallops. Cooked around 7 minutes. I took the shrimp out because I didn't want to overcook them and put them back in toward the end...add 1/3 cup of white wine and simmer for 3 minutes. Slowly add 8oz of heavy cream and bring to an almost simmer. Without straining the cook pasta just add it to the sauce with P. cheese and let simmer for a few minutes. I did cut up some (maybe 8) olives and added them. I just used what shrimp and scallops were in the freezer...it wasn't a pound and I didn't use the whole jar of artichoke or SDT either. I just added what I thought would be enough. Served with a baguette and butter. So, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
We love this recipe. Of course we only make it once in awhile, very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made this sans artichokes and it was a HUGE hit! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was very good and easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was super easy and awesome. My girlfriend and I had another couple over, served with homemade Caesar Salad, & breadsticks this was a winner. We left out the olives as they didn't seem to go and used half & half for the cream. We also used mozerrella cheese (not a ton) and grated parm. Will make this again for the parental units when they visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountsnowfish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Wardsboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Didn’t add the shrimp, scallops, or kalamata olives. Used whipping cream in place of heavy cream. Served with Key West Chicken from this site. This was a very easy & good recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I omitted the olives because I'm not a huge fan, and I didn't really like the idea of them with the other ingredients. I personally didn't mind the sun-dried tomatoes but Husband didn't like them at all. If I were to make this again, I would leave them out too. I used a slosh of the oil from the jar of artichokes which added a little bit of extra flavor, and prevented the shrimp/scallops from sticking to the pan. This was a nice meal but not mind-blowing. With a few tweaks, however, it definitely could be. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key West Chicken

It's the hint of lime that makes this marinade for grilled chicken so delicious.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States