Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I really liked this - probably would have been better with the real cream but I used half and half. Sadly, the rest of my family doesn't care for artichokes so I don't get to cook with them very often. I thought the rest of this recipe might sway them but it didn't work :( I tried to punch up the flavor by using garlic, red pepper and basil but it wasn't enough. I'll spice it up a little more next time, maybe even add a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is soooo delicious. I've had something similar to this at a restaurant and haven't been able to duplicate it until now. I changed a few things just because of what I had on hand. I used marinated artichokes, drained and chopped, sundried tomatoes without the oil, julienned, half of a large onion finely chopped, two cloves of garlic, some cream sherry, fat free half and half and cornstarch, some crushed red pepper and a little bit of pasta water to thicken the sauce a bit. It was out of this world. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
The look on our faces when we took the first bite said it all. This recipe is completely off the hook. My only changes were 2 chopped garlic cloves added with the shrimp & scallops, I chopped the artichokes & sundried tomatoes and added fresh parsley at the end. I may not add this to my weeknight dinner rotation as the ingredients are expensive, but I will make again. My mouth is watering just thinking about it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Quick, easy and good! Everyone in the family loved as is. The sauce was a little runny the first day. I added a little extra cheese to thicken. Was perfect the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Excellent...and very easy to tweak based on what's in the fridge --- I used roasted peppers instead of sundried tomatoes...added some leftover asparagus...and some fresh garlic as another review suggested...served it over angel hair.....Worth trying....Thanks...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I'm giving this a 3 because I had to doctor it a bit to try to get it flavorful enough for us, and it was still sort of bland. I sauteed garlic and hot pepper flakes in olive oil, then added the shrimp, artichokes and tomatoes, and scallops at the end so they wouldn't get too tough. I then removed the fish and vegies from the pan and added fat-free half and half, and cornstarch mixed with a touch of water. When this had started to thicken, I added the fish and vegie mixture back to the pan with the cheese and olives. I mixed in the pasta to absorb some of the sauce, and served with additional cheese. I am sure that whole cream would have added "something", but I am not sure it would have been worth the extra calories and fat. This is a great starting point, but I will have to play around with the recipe to get it to where there is enough "oomph!" to suit our tastes - I'll get back to you with the results! Thanks for a good starting point -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Ok, great recipe but added a few things. First, I sauted fresh garlic in a very small amount of olive oil before adding fish. Second, I added fresh parsley and cayenne pepper to taste. Just enough to give it a kick- Very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Better than I expected! I didnt have scallops so I used chicken breast instead. It was a bit bland we added garlic powder and salt/pepper.. could probably have used SOMETHING else, just not sure what the something would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cashews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was pretty good. I added cilantro, black pepper, garlic and red crushed pepper to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I cannot rate on the original, since I didn't have a few vital things (its not fair, but I'm sure it would have gotten 5 stars anyways!). I encourage you to try it even if missing some things. I had no artichocke hearts or olives. I used all shrimp, a little less cheese. I put about a tbs of butter in with shrimp and 2 tsp of minced garlic before adding cream. Also, my sundried tomatoes were dried so I blended them with some olive oil and let sit 10 minutes before adding. It was so delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States